Introduction to Bitcoin + Blockchain Workshop in a public university in Argentina.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

This is my fourth year working on cryptocurrency related projects, using blockchain for web applications, During that time I had the opportunity to learn a lot, by trial and error. I Started using bitcoin libraries such as bitcore and now Im using web3 and open zeppelin on most of my projects, worked with steem-js a few times this year too. this year I considered that I had the enough experience not to only give an introduction talk to bitcoin on the university, but also to give a very short workshop to show students very good open source libs (the most part of them built by Argentinians) and show to the how to send transaction on the Bitcoin and Ethereum networks.

First Day - Introduction to Bitcoin

This was incredible, really, we didn't have more space on the room, I gave a presentation of 30 min, very fast, because my idea was to introduce how bitcoin works in a very basic way to the people. And then receive all the questions they had and have a debate of how decentralized technologies can change the world. They were asking questions for more than one hour! and no one was leaving the room, we reach a time when we had to stop the activity because it was getting late. But seeing the faces of all that people amazed like I was four years ago when I know bitcoin was a great felling.

bitcoin2.jpg

You can see the presentation here: (in Spanish) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1q87bT4tZaBy597PZHxpekiDNBufHDehwmBznWLVh-e4

Second Day - Blockchain workshop

On this activity we had like ~30 attendants. A great number considering its not a huge university, and that you needed to have programing knowledge to understand the workshop. I hoped that we can did something once I finished explaining how the transactions works on both networks and present the libraries they could used. But it took me an hour and a half to finish with the presentation and asking questions, and after that they were still trying to process all the contents that I throw to them in a very short period of time. But I know that some of them leave home with the repository already cloned and the examples running on their notebooks.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-06 at 20.32.33(1).jpeg

Link to the github repository: https://github.com/TITandil/blockchain-workshop

The most important thing for me was to be able to give both activities on a public university, to students, teachers, merchants, all kind of people, introducing everybody in the bitcoin world :)

Sort:  

The best way to learn something is to teach it. What kind of questions were you getting from your audience. I'm curious if the audience, on balance, had a positive sentiment about the technology's potential? Hope you meet more technical people you can collaborate with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89