Times in Crypto When We're like.. "This is Bullsh*t." [& Add Yours Below!]

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Powering Up & Down on Steemit

So I made a total of 10 cents on Steemit in the last two months, which is basically nothing. I could walk outside and find a dime somewhere in 20 minutes and make the same amount.

I also have about 12 STEEM powered up.

Did you know that if you wanted your votes to get stronger, you do this feature called Powering Up, where you lock away some of your money. I deposited about 400 into powering up my account, and my voting power went all the way up to FOUR cents.

That means that if I liked 20 posts a day, I would make a whopping 80 cents, minus the degrading strength of the votes. Anything over 10 likes/day and your votes generally get weaker.

Well, I didn't have time to be on Steemit every day, and my posts were still averaging about 0-2 cents per post, so I powered down.

It takes 3 MONTHS to get your money back into a liquid form, and it releases only a little bit per week.

So at this point powering down my 12 Steem (which is really 7 because it says I need over 5 SP to keep my account open) would give me about 50 cents worth of Steem back per week.

I could hold an altcoin for a day and it'd grant me more excitement.

And since my Power is rather low, sometimes I can't even post or comment when I want to. Revolutionary technology, right?

Giving Your Friends Bitcoin for Cash

Remember when Bitcoin was free and anonymous? yeah no that's dead. Now you pretty much need a Coinbase account to enter the crypto world and use the exchanges, filled with KYC/AML ID checking and Mobile Phone verification to make sure you're paying your taxes.

Simply sending some Bitcoin over to your friend's phone in exchange for US dollars is enough to send you to prison for up to five years. And if you become successful doing that, they might up it to 20. He also owes like a million dollars to them. Source.

So I guess now we gotta be okay with passing ID checks in order to send Bitcoin out of our Coinbase accounts. And yes, they track every move you make on the blockchain.

They're probably going to do this for Marijuana, too. No weed unless you have a state license!

Sending Anything, Anywhere.

Imagine sending money to an exchange and forgetting to copy the last character, now it's gone.

That's akin to sending your son's Christmas gift to the wrong planet. It ain't coming back.

It's not.

And you know you have that spell of pure anxiety after you send your coins, making sure over and over that you did select the right address. I don't even have to go there.

But any way to remedy this outside of QR codes and Address Books would defeat the purpose of crypto.

Checking Prices

Isn't it weird how we consult a machine every time to see how much our money is worth?

Nobody knows what the real price is -- you need to consult a chart. You need to study the fractals, you need to analyze the technical to maybe get a gauge on how much your money is worth in 3 days.

So when Coinbase gives you a 3 day delay to send Bitcoin without an ID check, it inflames me.

We buy things still in terms of US dollars too, because (again) nobody knows how much any cryptocurrency is worth in the real world.

At least with gold it's dependent on whatever someone's willing to take for their service/product.

I'd rather not be turned into a robot always being concerned with the price of my virtual coins! Just let me pay my bills

Having news stories affect the value of my money.

So apparently in South Africa, a 9 year old girl was taken and the ransom was demanded in Bitcoin. Imagine if Bitcoin fell 100 bucks because of the impact of this event (that has NOTHING to do with the functionality).

That's really all I have to say.

No, seriously. I just had to pawn my Benz because Tonk Coin fell under the 50 EMA.

Sort:  

The fact that robots trade better than humans so when everything gets tokenized and tradable, robot traders will probably strip all the wealth out of our citizens and to those that control the bots over time.

When you start doing business in crypto and you get raided by the feds.

https://www.cryptoglobe.com/latest/2019/01/federal-authorities-raid-nonprofit-organization-over-unauthorized-trading-of-bitcoin/

A nonprofit organization that was created back in 1994 and provided people workspaces, low-cost services, and acted as an incubator for local innovation, has recently been raided by the for “unauthorized trading of bitcoin.”

According to WoodTV the non-profit organization, the National Science Institute – previously known as the Geek Group - has been around since 1994 but on December 21 of last year saw the US Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Homeland Security Agency raid its offices and seize computers, hard drives, and other equipment.

This, according to the president of the National Science Institute Chris Boden, as the group was “commercially trading in crypto-currency without proper authorization.” The non-profit organization has shut down 10 days after the raid occurred.

(What the fuck does "unauthorized trading" even mean in crypto??)

When Steemit, the decentralized platform against censorship, bans you for breaching their Terms of Service.

https://www.ccn.com/bitcoin-ransom-9-11-papers-hacker-group-banned-from-steemit-platform/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53