You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seed - Dev. Discusses - Hashing Algorithms in Bitcoin & Cryptocurrencies

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Whirlpool results in 512 bit hashes, which would be doubling SHA256’s size. Considering how precious storage is on the blockchain, I do not believe it would be worst using Whirlpool unless it gave some significant advantage I am not aware of.

Think you mean worth not worst.

Excellent article. When I get my voting power back, will be back to vote.

I want to find an article that breaks down the hashing algorithm operations into mathematical terms that a layperson can understand. You layed out the high level quite well. Thank you

Sort:  

Thanks for catching my typo, I did indeed mean worth.

Thank you :) If I come across any source that breaks down the algorithms, I'll definitely send it your way. I haven't been able to find anything like that yet either, everything is either fairly high level or very technical. Maybe in the future I'll do more research and put one together myself, however I definitely would need to learn more before I'd be able to do that, so it wont be just yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49