An honest critique of government knowledge and bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I was watching a vlog and I've heard this numerous times before from vloggers I respect. I think there is a misconception on one thing:

THE GOVERNMENT IS CLUELESS ON BITCOIN AND CRYPTOCURRENCIES

Why would I say this is a misconception? We all know that whatever you earn, the government wants their share of your earnings. There's no secret in that. Its why "goods" that are nearly impossible to keep accountability of said good's money movements are illegal (ie prostitution, gambing, agricultural). Its not morals and ethics and for some greater good of society, its because its impossible to keep accountability of goods sold when there's no way to monitor what the product even is or how much is available and sold. Right now we are lucky enough to have this opportunity as cryptos are those goods.

I believe the government is keeping quiet. Is it really believable to think the government doesnt have a department of people and lawyers proposing laws to tax cryptos and researching how cryptos work and where deposits are being exchanged and traded? Currently, there are few rules and I'd place my bets that the gov. is working it to being like buying stocks, commodities, and currency exchanges. So the gov is in a position where it CAN NOT tell you what they are up to. I'd say they know almost everything about cryptos but will keep silent until a new law book is written. Remember, when it comes to government, silence is golden and when its all said and done, it'll look a little bit like the Sheriff of Nottingham.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13