The Bitcoin generation gap

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I was over at My grandparents last night for dinner and we ended up talking about Bitcoin. My grandad is very interested in Bitcoin but will admit that he really has no idea what it is or how it works. To be fair, he is 95 and has never owned a computer. Email doesn't make sense to him.

I mentioned that I was likely going to put money into Crypto (steem and Bitcoin) to save for a vacation or a new computer. I figured if I put in $500 now, when the time comes to buy a new computer or go on a vacation. I could have significantly more money to do so. I am fairly confident that this bear market is pretty close to the bottom, so buying in now seems like a good idea to me.

My grandfather told me that when he needed to buy something, he put his money in the bank and soon enough he had enough. He also didn't why I wouldn't save my money. I tried to explain that I am saving my money by putting it into Bitcoin. I figure it is a far better savings account than my checking account at the local credit union.

He did not get it and I had a very hard time trying to explain that putting money into crypto is saving your money. We ended up talking about why crypto began and ultimately we talked about how this whole movement is a reaction to corruption of those we "trust" with our money.

My grandma came with the argument about "my generation" seeing these problems, but, "what are we going to do about it?" I tried to let her know that putting my money into Bitcoin instead of the bank is an action in and of itself.

It is a hard thing to try and get nearly computer illiterate people to understand cryptocurrency, and it is also difficult to make arguments that slander governments and banks to the elderly who grew up in a different time. Have you ever tried to have this conversation with someone much older than you? Did you have any success? What roadblocks did you find?

I would be really interested in hearing your experience.

Thanks!

Sort:  

If you say that you will buy crypto - most people think you are criminal. That is what I am feeling. So I am not talking about it so much. Do not like it but I hope it will change some day.

I think that in order for it to change, we need to talk about it.

Yes. I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88