"F**k you" money: The trap of the financial planning cryptopian

in #bitcoin6 years ago

We are here on Steemit. Congratulations! This means that we are among the early adopters of the future of social media. It also likely means that you are ahead of the curve in the arena of cryptocurrency. We know what Bitcoin is, blockchain, we have a few exchanges we can log into, perhaps you are mining, cloud mining or earning interest on a node, a proof of stake coin or a trading bot.

Once you get into crypto, the possibilities for growth are huge. Just last week you could have made a million dollars off of the growth of one coin if you were lucky enough to be invested in it. The exciting and amazing thing is that these things are happening all of the time. There is amazing potential to do very well with a small investment.

What I want to talk about today is the major problem that I am seeing with regards to sticking to your investment plan. I would also add a disclaimer that I will not be bleeping out curse words as I did in the title, so please read on with that awareness. I am talking about "Fuck You Money!"

facebook-1558618_960_720.png

So the plan is to hold down the job and put $100 a week into crypto investments. If I do particularly good one month I will put in more. If all goes to plan, I will have $10,000 (fiat) invested in cryptocurrency by the end of 2018 (as I also plan on having plenty of good months). The long term plan is to hold down the job for 24 months to maximize my investment and allow the initial investment to (hopefully) multiply and compound. Keeping the job will ensure that I don't need to take anything out to maximize my return.

Here is where it gets tricky. This is all hypothetical at this point. Say in month 1, I end up investing $750 in 'exciting-coin' (which doesn't really exist), a new coin with a low market cap and a price of 0.00004 cents. In February I decide to play it safe and put $500 into Ethereum. March I have a really good month and I put $1500 into 'fantastacoin' (almost identical to exciting-coin). In April $600 goes into Bitcoin. You get the idea here.

Whatever the plan is, putting money into crypto seems like a good idea. Keeping some safe bets, making some gambles and hoping on big gains is the way I would like to play it.

Enter Fuck You Money. Exciting-coin just went up to 0.00012. I now am holding 3 times the value of what I put in. Ethereum and Bitcoin have each just gained 25% and Fantastacoin is up 5x! My job is alright... but my co-workers are always talking about pokemon and my boss is a bit of a jerk and always wants me to come in on weekends. The weather sucks and I am working outside. The list goes on.

Wait a minute here! I have $7500 in Fantasticoin, $3000 in exciting-coin and almost $1400 combined in Bitcoin and Ethereum. That is nearly $12K. I don't need to put up with this day job crap. I can keep my money in crypto and sell as the bills come in, if I continue to make the same gains I can live off of this $12K investment.

'Fuck you' money is empowering. It gives you the confidence to walk from any job. Instead of working hard and dealing with the fact that no job is perfect, you now have enough money to walk away and not have to deal with the negatives of holding down a job. You could say "Fuck you - I quit." Hence, "Fuck you" money.

The problem with "Fuck you" money is the power it has to pull you away from your plan. In my hypothetical situation above, I had a 2 year plan and after 4 months I had quit my job. I stuck to my plan for 4 months (that is some powerful money). Granted, I got lucky and made some really good gains, but now I am pulling out money to pay some bills and could end up needing to get a job again because I am blowing my investment on rent, food and gas.

Had I stuck to that plan for 2 years, I would have invested $20,000 into crypto, had the chance to make huge gains and keep all of the principal invested. The potential is there to retire for good. The "Fuck you" money is empowering, but it also can sabotage your plan.

The crypto investing space is ripe for success and if you implement a plan and see it through, you could do very well for yourself in a short time. I am here to tell you to stay vigilant. Stick to your plans and be aware that there is a force at play that will be very tempting to you... "Fuck you" money.

When you have that bad day at work, have a really lousy assignment or when your coworker you carpool with ate pinto beans at lunch. In all of these situations, "Fuck you" money is going to start whispering in your ear. If you are not ready for it, you are going to say "Fuck you" and your financial plan has hit a roadblock and you will start to eat into your crypto nestegg. Be ready. It will want to tempt you and it will be hard to resist temptation.

When making your financial plan you will need to plan for the attack of "Fuck you" money. The beautiful thing about "Fuck you" money is that if you stick to your plan, the amount of "Fuck you" money that you have should grow and after finishing out your 2 year plan (or whatever it is)... you can say it. "Fuck you - I quit!"

Disclaimer: This IS financial advice. Be prepared and ready to be holding onto that ever tempting "Fuck you" money. Don't act on it. Stick to your plan. If we are prepared for this, we can withstand it and end up in a much better place. As far as investing in cryptocurrency, you know the deal! Nothing is certain, do your homework and only put in what you can afford to lose. If the principle grows, know that it has a better chance to keep growing if you don't tell off your boss cause you are "rich."

Sort:  

The other problem with f you money is that it can all evaporate in the blink of an eye. There is still and always will be the need for craftsmen, tradesmen, scholars, etc etc who have true marketable skills. And yes coders who create the wonderful binary code things we enjoy. Believe me i heard the f you money whisper years ago when i bought a house on a remote island in southeast asia and still dream of a spiritually focused and not money focused life. Its the dream that keeps me positive and going strong. Thanks for your post.

This is awesome! I am very glad that there are people that hear the whisper and know that there are other concerns that trump having that f you money. Thanks for reading!

Fun but interesting article, AllCap. We prefer a simple HODL approach. The Best way and the most reliable one - find the gems (fundamentally strong projects which have strong team, a product in the mind to solve an important issue with high utility value). Ideally, it should have a reasonably deep moat vs. competitors. This is the recipie for success! Earlier or later the market will recongize the value of the project and will award you with immence profits. Real life example, RLC token (iExec) >+100% today! This pick was included in our portfolio yesterday and published here https://steemit.com/crypto/@p2port.com/crypto-portfolio-high-quality-crypto-assets-for-long-term-growth-created-on-11-january-2018

Also remember, that the best investment is in your self: 1) skills and education 2) health 3) family and only then - 4) Crypto !

Hold and don't quit your day job... and like you said, do the homework to find out which coins are worth holding. There are a lot of potential duds out there. Thanks! I will check your post.

Great artical! Wish i could of thrown 10,000 into crypto 5 months ago!! Great to see the space growing though! Happy to be an early adopter! Following you!

Awesome! I wish I could have done that as well. It is still a looming threat to want to just prematurely exit the work world because you got some crypto gains. Don 't do it!

yes , fuck facebook

indeed... although this article is not about facebook even a little bit... only the picture resembles a facebook like.

Good write up no more spending much time in social media

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 0.79% vote... I was summoned by @allcapsonezero! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Good luck every1🤑💰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97