My Bitcoin Story (and how I completely missed it out)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

20171212_022454.jpgHello everyone, my name is Alex this is my first ever post here. Today I am going to tell you a short story about how Bitcoin wanted me, but it seems that I never wanted it :))

My first encounter with Bitcoin
Back in 2010 when I was still in Uni, i didn't have a job but I was able to support myself playing poker, mostly online. Yes, I was that kind of guy who played on pokersars day and night on multi-screens :)) I was making about 700$-800$ per month on average. In my country, the average salary at that time was about 400$-500$, so you can imagine that I was living a decent student life, affording drinks and parties without having to experience the stress of a daily job. But enough with the long story, let's jump to what was supposed to be my first experience with Bitcoin. Back in the day I was playing some low stakes tables of 6. At some moment just 3 of us remained at the table with one soon to be kicked-out by me due to a bad beat. That guy followed the game until the end of it, when I finally won my (around) 23$ 1st Place and contacted me later to beg me to transfer him the 6 bucks he lost. The guy told me that he played from his father's account without him knowing and that he will get punished if this gets discovered. I told him to get a credit card and to deposit back the money only to find out that he is not even 18 yrs old and has no way to put the money back in. For some reason I trusted him, especially when he tried to offer me something in return. 'I'll give you all my Bitcoin' he said. 200 and something he had, or at least that's what I remember. I asked him what the hell is Bitcoin? Is is worth something? Can it buy beer? He tried to explain me that this is digital money and how he can transfer them to me but I simply did not pay any attention to what he said. I just felt that he was telling the truth and I transferred him not only what he lost but also the table fee, telling him to learn something from this and to keep his digital money for when they will actually be worth something :))

My 2nd Encounter with Bitcoin
Bachelor's was over. I was about to leave my country to study my Master's Programme in UK, and I was in desperate need of money for a part of the tuition fee and living costs for one year, so I decided to sell my car to add some extra money to my limited budget. So I listed it on some local online marketplace, got in contact with a few potential buyers and finally met one of them. I wanted 2500 euros for the car and the guy I met offered me 2200 euros (that was all he got) and the difference in Bitcoin, which he told me it was worth 10$ a piece or so at that time. I did not wanted any complications so I just asked him to borrow 100 more euros from someone and just give me 2300 Euros for the car. A little bit under what I wanted but he seemed a nice guy to take care of my beloved Opel Astra that served me well for 3 years back then. That happened in late 2011.

A few months ago, almost 7 years later, I heard about Bitcoin again :)) the news were full of it and after a few google searches, my facebook feed was bombarded with Bitcoin posts :)) do I regret not considering Bitcoin back in the day? Hell yeah! Who wouldn't?! But at the same time I hope that the kid and the guy with the car became millionaires and will see this post someday... just kidding :))

Meanwhile I got involved in the cryptocurrency markets studying them in detail and hoping that this time I won't miss it again. As soon as my Bitfinex account gets approved I will get some IOTA, Ripple and QASH (Bitcoin is too expensive and I do not expect it to reach the million) and I will probably forget about them for a few years and see what happens :) what do you think about this move?

Wish you all a lot of cryptoluck :))

Sort:  

Man you missed your opportunity twice,hopefully this timed you learn the lesson!keep the faith!

Congratulations @alexp! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alexp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65