I hope I can look back some day like this guy.

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Cool Thread on Twitter
YassineARK posted about some really cool things happening in the early days of Bitcoin (BTC). I found this one tweet really cool. A person wanted to get into bitcoin so he/she offered to sell a picture to be used as a background for 500 bitcoins at the time worth $1 USD.

https://twitter.com/yassineARK/status/1047978610114478082

Yassine.png
I looked up the wallet and this person received 500 bitcoins. So it looks like this person made one sale. wow! hopefully, if that person held those bitcoins, that transaction is worth $3,171,575.00 today.

https://www.blockchain.com/btc/address/1BHtsCnpmTvpgJEP7eMKEVhpJFunxSM8vq

The wallet was emptied April 2011 around the same time BTC made it to $1 USD. Lots of people sold when Bitcoin reached $1 USD thinking this was the peak of bitcoin. So this person made a little over 500% profit if the BTC's were sold. Still, not bad newbie.

I can honestly say I was intrigued with BTC back in 2010 but never went to the bitcoin meeting at the local coffee shop. If I had and I had 500 BTCs I would have done the same and sold at $1. The goal in life is to invest for the future and spend and enjoy life each day. Wine and food with friends is the best way to spend your riches. So don't let your spoils spoil but don't empty the treasure chest.

Thanks for reading.

alaqrab1.gif

Would you like to learn more about cryptocurrencies and earn free Bitcoin? Use this referral to start an easy to use Bitcoin wallet and earn free Bitcoin. I share my referral rewards back for being active. Thanks.

Sort:  

Wow, if only they would have held on. But nearly impossible to forecast that. Thanks for this interesting post ;)

Right! I think this person knew Bitcoin was special but seeing a 500% rise, he sold thinking it can't be this good forever. Just like last January.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97