Sold My Bitcoin to Open a Mining Operation

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Today was a historic day for cryptocurrency. It started for me in a lecture hall where my Macro Economics professor (probably my favorite professor who also happens to teach my favorite class) gave a lecture on Bitcoin and cryptocurrency touching on the basics of blockchain technology, Satoshi Nakamoto, theories about crypto, and altcoins. He also expressed however that he agreed with the big banks that Bitcoin is not the future, and that it is like tulip mania. While he believes that there is little to no value in BTC, I stand in a middle ground position, believing that there is some value, but that the price today reflects speculation.

Either way, today isn't about my beliefs or his. Toady is about the facts. Around lunch time I noticed that BTC was above $5000. How could that have happened? I thought. I was even more shocked to notice that it was at $5500 by late evening when I checked my phone, bored in an investment banking meeting. By midnight, it was in the high $5700s. I decided that I has to sell. The price was going to correct itself tonight. After going through a huge hassel of ID Verification to transfer money (stuff that I should have done before deciding to sell), I was able to make the transaction. As always the servers were overloaded, but my sale through coinbase for a $2.99 fee was well worth it. I'm not going to go into specific dollar amounts, but I cashed out up some 477% as I had bought in the $1000s. What am I going to do with the money?

MINE. MINE. MINE.


(No, this isn't my setup, although mine will look very imilar)

My plan is to use the money I made along with some additional funds to start GPU mining Ethereum and Alt coins. At the moment, this can be very lucrative, especially when you have inexpensive electricity and high prices for crypto. Maybe if Bitcoin falls, I'll use some of my earnings to buy back in at a lower price.

Ether way I'm excited.

Be sure to UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!
--Aaron

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaronburt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28