August Posts Bench Marking Report - Business Intelligence Steemit

in #bisteemit7 years ago

It’s that time of the month again when we can establish a benchmark for our posts.

For this analysis I have connected with PowerBI to the Comments posted table from the SteemSQL held and managed by @arcange.  The dates for which I have analysed are 1 Aug to 07 Sept, however the posts analysed are only for the 1st Aug to 31 Aug. The extra 7 days are to get an accurate reflection of blogs achievement during its pay-out life of 7 days.

The analysis is carried out on Posts, this means an analysis of comments is excluded.  The analysis looks at 3 KPIs commonly measured.  Financial Performance and Engagement though the number of votes per post and the number of comments per post.

The aim of this analysis is to help you establish fact based goals and assess your performance against the overall performance on Steemit. It is also to help me keep accountable for the targets I set for my self.

Financial Performance of August Posts

  

 

 

Looking at the data above, it is interesting to see that only 1 % of posts have received payouts of over $100.  It proves that making money on Steemit is not as easy as one might initally think.

I previously set targets for my self against these benchmarking reports. I was hoping to report back that my posts were holding in the $51-100 range on average.  This is how my posts preformed

 

Votes per post

   

53% of posts received between 2 and 10 votes.  It is also interesting to see the number of net downvote posts has almost doubled on last month.  A lot of this is down to the efforts of a small few trying to clean up Steemit.  I would not be surprised if this figure continues to rise.  It amounts to 0.6% of posts during Aug.

I was also interested to see the person with the highest average number of votes per post is @heimindanger.  For those of you that do not know, @ heimindanger is the creator of Dtube.  Here is a table showing the top 5 authors with the highest average vote per post.  Nice to also see @harveyrelieffund included in this list :-)

   

The number of votes on a post directly correlates to the final total payment, remembering that some votes are worth considerably more than others.

My target is to reach a level of 101-500 net votes per post.  Its hard work reaching that level, but I am on the way and happy with my progress

 

Comments per Post

To me comments on posts are of utmost importance (as long as they are not spam comments).  It shows a level of engagement on posts that surpasses votes and payment.

182K posts received no comments, while 93K received 1 comment.  The average number of comments per post was 4.07.  Only 0.16% of posts received more than 100 comments, which has dropped from 0.22% in July.  This is a trend I am going to keep my eye on !

  

If I look at my stats, I am delighted to say that one of my posts is in the top 0.16%.  My target is to achieve 51-100 comments per posts. Although I did have a really good post, I am still way off this target in general. 

So that wraps up the August Post Bench marking report.  How did your posts fair out?  Do you set targets?  How do you make sure you achieve them?  Comment below as I would love to hear thoughts.

 I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

you can find #bisteemit  on discord https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j

Follow, upvote and resteem 


Sort:  

Muy buena información !!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paulag from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

i've been playing games to pay myself with posts, like randowhale & minnowbooster etc... those tactics make it look like i'm earning more but it's just recyling my own steem. i'm posting once a day, but the posts are short 'cause i don't have enuff time/energy for better stuff some weeks.

I dont use these bots, because as you said, its just recycling steem. I do however use minnow support ( but I dont think I can use that for much longer, will need to check the requirements) You might not make long posts, but you do always take the time to read my posts and comment. I reward loyal followers with my votes. As it is my loyal followers that will help me grow and I do appreciate them (and you!) I don't have the time at the moment to be reading and commenting like you. At the moment I have to stick to a small few tags because of time. Hope that changes for me soon

good job thanks for the report

Thank you very much for compelling this. Just out of curiosity what was the one post that paid out $1,113.73? Following you and up voted...

Good analysis .. Thanks for sharing with us

Thanks @paulag! That is a great overview. Do you have a chance to link the numbers to the tags? In a short analysis I saw that the categories life, steemit, steem and photography made all over 2m SBD payouts. Would be interesting to see if this than also correlates to quantity of comments and votes.

All the best, and enjoy the day :)

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Excellent article. Looking forward for next month's report.

very good and informative post, upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69