Using Boosters To Increase Profit On Your Posts - An Empirical Analysis

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

untitled.1516.jpg

As many of you will know I have been evaluating the effectiveness of using booster bots here on the Steemit platform, which you pay to use. There are many to choose from now and I have experimented with virtually all of them, well the ones I can find. If I have missed one please let me know.

Most of you are probably aware post payouts have declined in value in recent months due to a number of factors, principally due to a massive increase in new users and the fluctuating value of Steem. However, whales now sell their votes and this has also had an additional impact on the value of your post reward.

In almost 3 months of personal experience I have had a unique insight into these quirky little bots. Some I think prove their worth in gold but others I would urge you to avoid using. I have no fancy graphs or graphics to show you (apart from one!), but my own personal journey with boosters should help many of you determine whether or not to use them to boost your own post payouts.

Be Very Careful With

@bellyrub
@nettybot

Be Confident With

@randowhale

Be Very Confident With

@booster
@minnowbooster

It has always been my experience that there is a clear pattern of profitability when using @booster and @minnowbooster with the 29 posts I have used them on. Clearly the return will vary depending on how much you pay, in most cases I always pay no more than 1 SBD.

However, while I have witnessed a small return on my posts when using @bellyrub and @nettybot there is absolutely no consistency. Worryingly is that these so called boosters have actually not boosted my post at all and I have paid more than I got back, so I have lost money some times when using these bots. The biggest loss was with @nettybot when I recently paid 2.5 SBD to boost a post and received a $1 boost. Please feel free to check all my last 30 posts to see for yourselves how the boosters have performed.

In relation to @randowhale I have found that this bot gives you a modest return on your payment. So there is a degree of profitability when using @randowhale. However, the down side to using this booster is that you can't always access it because very often @randowhale has to sleep to charge its vote power. A problem you don't get with @booster.

As regards the more positive boosters @minnowbooster is very good, but the negative with this booster is that you can not spend more than 5 SBD in any one week to use it, it has a limite. However, it may be that @booster takes the lead. I say this because @booster has no limits and more importantly it has a frontrunner built into it, a separate voting guild, which helps to give you even more votes, and therefore an additional boost. Therefore should you choose to use @booster you will see an initial increase in your post value, then later on when the @booster cycle is complete @booster will visit your post and give you the main boost.

You can also see from the graphic below that the 100% upvote is worth more with @booster.

Screenshot_2017-08-19_17_59_26.png

That rounds up my evaluation of boosters and the impact and potential impact they can have to your posts and your reward payouts. I hope this helps some of you guide your way through the concept of boosters and whether they are right for you to use.

Don't forget if you really want to try breaking down and attempt to work out exactly how much any booster will give you at any given time you can visit steemnow.com to get up to date stats on users and booster bots.

Sort:  

Excellent synopsis of your experience. Thank you.

You're very welcome, I hope it helps.

Yes agreed @lpfaust , our good friend @freedomexists does great work here and Id like to see him getting more support on his posts as i see many getting far more for far less !! I hope to see it change soon !!

Thanks for your kind words of support and encouragement gomera, much appreciated.

very nice post! thank you for all the good info!

Thanks julian, I hope it provides some assistance.

Great analysis, I completely agree with your conclusions in relation to randowhale and booster.

Thanks eroche, appreciated the support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by freedomexists from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Español? Es bunghole! Habla, blah habla, habla habla, habla bunghole...

Nice recap of Steemit's lil helpers. I find using booster most fulfilling mostly because of the frontrunner guild coming along.

I also find the ROI of @buildawhale quite nice, you send 0.1 up to 1 SBD and then you enjoy the lil upvote afterwards. It works similar to booster and upvotes every 2,4 hours.

Nice analysis based on observation, you have probably saved a lot of people time.

thanks for entering the #bisteemit contest. Keep your eye out for the winning announcement

Great observation! well done.

Recently used @randowhale, got a 2 SBD return on my first try for a 0.5 SBD investment but the second time I used it, I only got 0.3 SBD return for paying 0.5 SBD. Randowhale can be hit or miss.

After curation is deducted you will have even less.

Hmmm...can you explain a bit further? I've been here for only 2 weeks. I'm still learning about Steem and everything. o.o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54