You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: Curation League - Week 6 - Can't stop, Won't stop, @dontstopmenow!

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

This is my first time reading a post in this series Asher, and first I want to tell you great job! This is really interesting, a terrifically valuable post series in my opinion. To anyone interested in curation, this provides a wonderful starting point. Analyze the voting habits of those high on your list and you should have a great start!

It should be relatively easy to build a SQL query that returns this info and sorts it by Curation/SP% - we can limit the query to return top 50, or top 100, or whatever, and in this manner you can sample the entire population of active Steemit users. I will DM you RE this.

A brief note on my own inclusion on this list - I would undoubtedly be higher if it were not for my habit of spending a decent chunk of my voting power upvoting comments that will never give me any curation reward. I do this because I personally feel there is a dearth of honest and thoughtful commenters. I would love to see something like Curie that looks for awesome comments and gives them a big upvote - even a $5 upvote in the context of a comment would be a huge encouragement to a thoughtful commenter, and would probably go a long way toward incentivizing people to do more than say "nice", "I like it it", "awesome", or any of the other generic comments that I lump together in the same class as "Please follow me I follow you". It may seem harsh to lump a nice but generic comment together with follow for follow spam, but come on people! If you like a post, say why you like a post! Incidentally, along these lines, the bots "gentlebot" and it's cousin (which has a name along the lines of "thing-one" but that is not it and I can't remember the right name) do hunt for good comments and upvote them. I love these bots and was thrilled as a beginning Steemit user when some of my comments received their benediction.

You see so many calls for more original content creators. That is all well and good, but to be honest, we can't all be amazing content creators. Some people are talented and creative and spout content out like a geyser. Some people, maybe not so much but they can grind away and produce original content in a workmanlike manner. Others may not have the skill and aptitude to create truly original content. That is fine. Everyone can leave an honest and thoughtful comment.

Sorry to derail the conversation, I know that got off topic! This is a subject I have been ruminating on for a while now, and planning a post (or series) about.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Great response Carl!

Some great points made, especially regarding the up-voting of good, well thought-out comments. @the-thing is the bot I think you are referring to.

I would undoubtedly be higher if it were not for my habit of spending a decent chunk of my voting power upvoting comments that will never give me any curation reward.

Absolutely, and same here - I've mentioned this as my 'valid' excuse for not hitting anywhere near the highs of the top curator reward %'s. As you say, a decent comment is perhaps more encouragement than most people can give money-wise.

Looking forward to discussing the SQL more with you.

Thank you!

Asher

@thing-2 is its name, for what it's worth. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41