TIL: Important Difference between TRANSFER and WITHDRAW using BitShares Wallet

in #bishares7 years ago (edited)

Dear traders,

I'm really not a newbie in the cryptoworld and I did countless successful transactions with many different cryptocurrencies.

man-932840_640.jpg

But a few hours ago I made a big mistake.

I want to share it with you, so you don't make the same!

(And maybe I get some of the SBDs back, if enough readers find this information valuable.)

What I did:

I wanted to send some SBDs from the bitshares app to my poloniex account.

As always, I first went to my poloniex account and pressed the deposit SBD button to get the address (which is poloniex) and the correct memo.

poloniexwallet.png

But when I tried to send the SBDs from the bishares2 light app, I got the above message telling me, I had to send them to the poloniexwallet account instead.

poloniex vs. poloniexwallet

At that point I should have been warned and cancel the transaction or maybe just send a small amount first, but I didn't.

So I sent all the sweet SBD to the poloniexwallet account at bishares, where they instantly arrived.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-05-31 um 00.41.28.png

Wait for it

I thought, they would be automatically forwarded to my poloniex wallet, cause I used the right memo. But nothing happens. The SBD just sat in that account and are not being forwarded to my poloniex account. They are still there:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-05-31 um 12.46.29.png

As you can see, I was not the only one that sent different currencies to that account. As far as I understand now, it is used to send and receive BTS only.

So I opened up a support ticket at poloniex and hopefully they will send the SBDs back to me. Fingers crossed!

But what did I wrong?

I misunderstood the difference between transfer and withdraw in the bitshares app this time.

What I had to do, would have been going to the "Deposit/Withraw" tab and then use openledger-gateway to withraw my SBDs. Like here:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-05-31 um 12.44.34.png

Bishares-Talk Forum

I also made a post at the bishares-talk forum, which you can read here and @ash already replied to it.

I found the most helpful hint in his profile over there:

No pain, no gain!

TL;DR

Be careful when you use the bitshares app to move funds:

  • If you want to send funds out of the bitshares sphere, you will have to use a gateway to withdraw it.
  • Use transfer only to move funds from one account to another inside the bitshares sphere.

Hope, that information was useful - Thanks for your attention!

@shortcut

Sort:  

Oh nein, ist aber auch nicht ganz einfach manchmal

Man sollte generell solche Überweisungen nicht kurz vorm Schlafengehen machen. Aber die bitshares App ist wirklich ein bisschen gewöhnungsbedürftig - dafür aber auch sehr mächtig...

Stimmt - bei Finanzsachen bin ich sehr vorsichtig, mobile apps nutze ich dafür nie - aber mache Transfer Modalitäten sind auch echt schwer und von Markt zu Markt unterschiedlich

Naja, ich habe auf meinem Handy immer ein paar Bitcoin, falls ich mal zufällig in ein Café komme, das die als Zahlungsweise akzeptiert. Halt nur soviel, wie ich auch in meinem Geldbeutel mit mir herumtragen würde.
Ich erinnere mich noch gut, wie verblüfft ich war, als ich meine erste Steem-Überweisung gemacht habe und statt des üblichen langen Code-Wirr-Warrs nur einen Benutzernamen dafür brauchte. Das kam mir erstmal nicht geheuer vor, dabei sollte das doch der Normalzustand sein ;-)

I'm still too angry, to get the first tag right :-(

I had steem in my bitshares wallet. I wanted to sell. Went to "send" selected open.steem from the drop down and sent to bittrex. Bittrex deposit account gave me a memo and a registered account by the name of bittrex . However , when I entered bittrex in the account field it told me to change it to bittrex-deposit. Which I did. I also entered the memo and hit send. The transaction seemed to have gone through in the bitshares wallet but doesnt even show as pending in bittrex. This is in my bitshares wallet history : ksh-9792 sent 121.15 STEEM to bittrex-deposit
Unlock your wallet in order to see this memo . Where is my STEEM??:( Please help!

I guess you will have to open a support ticket at bittrex. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40