Happy Birthday To Me

in #birthday7 years ago (edited)

I am now 41 years old. For a guy who didn't plan on living past 21 I'm doing pretty good. I don't feel any older than I did yesterday, but I have felt really old for a few years now.

gif

Image Source

This is my first birthday without my mom. It kinda blows.

Apparently 41 years ago today Roots premiered on TV and mom was all set to watch it. I however, had other plans. For my entire life I heard that story any time my birth was mentioned or if a commercial for Roots came on. I don't think she ever did watch Roots.

I have one birthday wish for anyone who reads this:

If your relationship with family is strained or there is bad blood between you, please make it right. There will come a day when you would be thrilled to hear your mother or father bitch about how you are living your life. You would give anything for their most disapproving look. To hear them nag would be bliss.

Take it from me. I'm stuck in that day.

Me and mom had reconciled over the last few years and I truly believe we were good. But I am haunted. Haunted by years wasted in childish defiance. Haunted by my foolish need to be right. Haunted by precious time with my mom that is forever lost.

I would be wrong about everything. I would be nagged forever. I would listen to a century of lectures about every wrong action. I'd do anything for just one more day to hear her voice.

I'm a spiritual person and I believe that when my life ends I will be reunited with her.

Right now, I don't care.

I just want my mom.

momnwayne.jpeg

Sort:  

First off happy birthday! You don't look 41 from your fb pic. Secondly, I'm extremely sorry about your mother. Thirdly, you raise some excellent points regarding clearing up bad blood while you still can.

Thank you. I just had to get it off my chest.

That's always extremely helpful thing to do. Holding in the feelings can be toxic

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69