It's my Birthday! Turning 26 in Sydney...

in #birthday7 years ago (edited)

So, it's not often you turn 26 ;) I thought I would share my weekend with you as a perfect excuse to get some content out there on Steemit and document my life a little more whilst I'm in Sydney. It was my first Birthday away from my friends and family in the UK but I had the best time celebrating with new friends and my boyfriend.

FRIDAY - A group of the girls and I went to Yulli's in Surrey Hills which is known for it's vegetarian/vegan options - perfect for us as the majority are vegetarian. We ordered lots of dishes to share but of our favourites included the korean fried broccolini with sticky sour chilli sauce (this was such a treat as it reminded me of sticky sour chicken but cruelty free), roast pumpkin with cauliflower, kimchi and cashew cream and eryngii mushrooms, vegetable skewers with a malaysian peanut satay! It's safe to say we were STUFFED!

Next up we hit a few local pubs and bars. I very rarely drink, perhaps once every four months as I try to eat and live as clean as possible on a day to day basis. When I do get involved my number one tipple has to be Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. Secondly, I love Malibu - it's so sweet and and great for making cocktails! Thirdly, I do enjoy a glass of red wine, especially with food. I got home around 2am and used this time to message a few friends back home whilst they were awake. Of course, I had to drop in an obligatory toilet selfie!

IMG_1159.JPG

IMG_1154.jpg
IMG_1153.jpg

IMG_1155.jpg

SATURDAY - Happy Birthday to meeeee! I woke up around 8am feeling a little rusty but I decided to hit the sales and spend some of the birthday money I received. I have a blog coming up which will detail all the goodies I got my hands on, some particular bargains from Topshop as they have gone into administration here in Australia so everything is super affordable and I got some amazing items from Zara.

Max (that's boyfriend, he loves too blog also) was still asleep when I left in the morning, he's been working a lot recently which includes weekends so I was really looking forward to getting back and spending some time with him. Unfortunately, I ended up missing my stop on the train home by THREE stops! I was busy reading some article on my phone and being a little hungover I clearly wasn't thinking straight. After an extra hour added onto my 30 minute journey (grrrrrr) I finally got home and I was lead to the balcony where Max had presented my gifts and cards. It turns out that those weeks of him insisting on collecting the post from our mailroom, there was a reason behind it - he had been talking with my friends back home to arrange a parcel to be sent over to me from the UK and didn't want me to catch on. The girls also arranged for some beautiful flowers to be delivered- truly spoilt!

IMG_1186.jpg

19532017_765057603654399_533463002_o.jpg

Max and I finally headed out to The Rocks where we had a reservation for the Sake Restaurant & Bar. I really fancied trying something new and had Japanese food in mind but I always assumed it would be quite fish heavy on the menu. They catered plenty for the vegetarian! Max is a pescatarian so he eats fish when we go out.

The food and the experience was incredible from start to finish. The lighting was romanic and it felt authentic with an open kitchen. As the night went on they introduced some Chicago-house playing in the background. I started the evening with miso soup, followed by vegetable tempura, vegetable sushi roll and a broccolini dish. We had a fair few cocktails, my favourite was without a doubt the 'Miss Wednesday'- Shochu, Rose, Lychee, Vanilla and fresh lime!

IMG_1184.jpg

IMG_1183.jpg

cock1.jpg

All in all a wonderful birthday. Thanks to my family and friends for making the effort whilst I'm away from home <3

So much more to come from me so I hope you enjoyed this.

Scarlett

Sort:  

happy birthday babe! here we gooooooo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70