They've Just Made My Birthday A Public Holiday In My Country

in #birthday6 years ago

Hi friends, it's your boy @nevies again Also Known in some places As The Friendly Neighborhood Gangsta, Super Hero and all time good guy. How do you do, folks?

image

Your boy @nevies woke up to some good news this morning, a press release, stating that my birthday, June 12, has just been conferred the tittle of "Democracy Day" in Nigeria and thus, a public holiday. Here is the announcement made by the president:

image
source

As you see, they've given some reasons about how the truest form of Democracy in Nigeria was manifested on the elections held some years ago in June 12 and how that day is supposed to be celebrated as Democracy Day instead of 29th May, which is the former Democracy Day, bla bla bla. I'm just laughing as I look all these reasons they're giving because I know what really happened, I know what the real reason is.

On the 1st of June this year, I looked around me and thought, "well, my birthday is on the 12th, wouldn't it be nice to have something favourably different from now on?" So I put a call through to the Government house and introduced myself to them as who I am, The Friendly Neighborhood Gangsta, I sent them pictures of some of the notorious things I've been doing in the country recently:

image
image

And then I told them my birthday was the 12th of June and that I want it to be a public holiday or else! Then I hung up. I let them do the math, no one would like to mess with me at all for sure.

And after a few days of them being in sweats and panic they came together and arranged some reasons to tell the public and then they did as I said, made my birthday a public holiday. So there you have it.
😂 😂 😂 😂

                                 * * * * 

But, well, jokes apart, the 12th of June is a very remarkable day in Nigerian history. It's story is also a very sad one.

The Short Story Of June 12

It was on June 12, 1993, a Nigerian called Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola (MKO Abiola in short) was elected as the President of Nigeria. Abiola was a man who was greatly loved by the Nigerian population, he was very philanthropic, and highly educated; a business tycoon and he had international renown with a first class degree in Accounting from Glasgow University, a distinction from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. And he had honorary doctorates from international Universities.

image
MKO Abiola
source

The elections on the said day was viewed as the most free and fair elections ever held in Nigeria. But by then Nigeria was under Military rule and after the elections the military government annulled the elections and imprisoned MKO Abiola for 5 whole years until he died of poisoning in jail on July 7, 1998.

This was the sadness perpetrated by the military government in those days. Nigerians have not forgotten about all these and the memory of MKO Abiola lives on and the beauty of Democracy seen through the elections of the said June 12, 1993 has not been forgotten. The populace has long been clamouring for Democracy Day to be Celebrated on this day and just yesterday the current government has seen it fit to carry out this wish. In addition the late MKO Abiola has been conferred the tittle of GCFR (Grand Commander of the Federal Republic) and his Vice Baba Gana Kingibe (who is still alive) has been conferred with the tittle of GCON (Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger).

image

As we the good people of Nigeria (only the good people) strive to do the right thing in our country's politics and uphold Democracy, I'll end this in the words of Abraham Lincoln:

May the Government of the people, by the people, and for the people, not perish from the Earth

Thank you very much for reading.
reference

image

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarena trail. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Wow, thank you so much! Cool. 😎

Please don't mind our president he is only looking for favors.

Please don't mind our
President he is only
Looking for favors.

                 - elixbaba


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Happy birthday to you in advance bruv

Thanks so much, man. 🤣

Happy birthday in advance bro....it shall be well with nigeria....election is fast approaching.

That's right, let's hope so! Thanks man.

MKO.. Was a good, and perfect description of a Nigerian... Though most have forgotten him, your post will remind them that Nigeria might still after all those years have a few good men left ..

Yeah, you're right. 👍

I don't think that holiday idea can work jare, happy birthday dear

Why dyou think it can't work, gurl?

Your sense of humor is quite astonishing. Good reading from you as usual.

Hahahah, thanks so much, man.

Hahaha...@nevies, you really are a crazy son of a gun. But jokes apart, it really cool how you skillfully educated our grangsters from other nations whatagwan here in Nigeria.
Happy birthday bro, from your run away soldier here.. @arinzechukwu

Lol. Thanks bruv. Welcome back, buai.

Happy Birthday Bro. You are stepping into a Year where you will experience an Increase in Whatever you do.

The Sky is your starting point

Thanks so much, mah man. Amen! 😎

Happy birthday baby boy! Really glad you had the day as you preferred and on your own terms. You write so good that I could keep reading and reading. I absolutely love the way you write. And hey you are the cutest gangster I have seen around!

Ah! Hahahahahaha, thank you very much. That's really kind of you. 😎🤣😀 👍 👍
I'm going to take that to the bank and deposit it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36