My Birthday Dinner Tonight

in #birthday8 years ago

I enjoyed a nice date with @corinnestokes and, for probably the first time in our lives, ordered more sushi than we could finish! We actually had to got a take home box! I took this picture after we already dug in a bit.

Had a stomach bug over the weekend so I'm extra thankful to be feeling better today to enjoy time with my love.

I'm 38 now. Amazing to think about all the technological changes over that time, or even just the last 20 years. What will the next 38 years be like? Doom and gloom prognosticators can keep telling stories of humanity's impending demise until they're blue in the face, and I'll continue to be optimistic. Technology is advancing forward, the gatekeepers of information access are being bypassed, and humanity is moving up Maslow's Hierarchy of needs. Beyond that, and probably more importantly, humanity, from my perspective, is actually evolving. We're no longer looking to war as an honorable end unto itself. We're actively seeking out mechanisms to increase cooperation and mutual benefit. Don't let those trying to sell you something or take something away from you (most often your freedom) convince you the world is getting worse, and you need to be afraid.

Tomorrow, by our actions, the world will be closer to what we decide it should be today. Love, mutual respect, improving epistemology and understanding... these things will continue to increase our well being.

Thanks for reading and for being a part of my life through your comments and your posts. I've really enjoyed Steemit this year, and I'm excited about the future.

Sort:  

Happy Birthday Luke , Wishing you the best of times!

P.S. The sushi Looks delicious!

Your Welcome, Hope you had a good time ^_^

Am stoked with those sushis..did you have sashimi?

Yep, that's what the plate to the right is. So good.

Happy Birthday Luke, dinner looked amazing!

Thank you! It was. :)

Happy birthday!

happy birthday!!!

Happy Birthday! 🎂 😊

Happy Birthday @lukestokes :-)

Happy birthday. Sushi looks fabulous

Happy Birthday! Man I love Sushi!

Happy Birthday, Luke! You get the year started right, lol! Here's to your best year yet, in 2017!

Best year yet! Sounds good to me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51