My First Birthday On Steemit: Creating a Dent On The Steem Blockchain

in #birthday6 years ago (edited)

1111.jpg

Yepee! It's my birthday, and I am super excited to be alive. I am grateful to God for the gift of Life. I had to sneak out of class and steal a little time to make this post. If not, the day would be over and no one ever got to read my story, hahaha, just because I was stucked in between lectures. Education could be seen as both a propeller and an hindrance to the growth of blockchain technology, by the way, that's just a case study to look into.

Where do I start from? Nothing much to say, yet a lot to write about. After NYSC, I used to work with an Oil Milling company as their laboratory FFA analyst. After a couple of months, I resigned from the job, came back home and started an online business with Fiverr, a freelancing site while I prepared for admission exams/Interview for postgraduate programme at the University of Ibadan (Nigeria's Premier University).

I did a few gigs on fiverr, and later the gigs weren't coming often again. Later, I got a teaching job offer but turned it down when I discovered steemit on the facebook timeline of @samstickkz, I am extremely grateful to Sam. Long story cut short, I joined immediately, started blogging and here I am today. I gained admission for my M. Sc programe, and I've been on it, combining it with steemit. Though both has been really demanding and stressful, but it's been worthwhile.
IMG_3921 copy.jpg

Steemit is one of the most remarkable things that have happened to my life in recent times. And two of my most successful projects so far on Steemit has been the POHI project, a steem-powered project and creation of the Steemjet database.

I took out a bit of time to ponder a bit about what really mattered to me in the past one year, and then I realized that it has been the kids, the school kids, those ones in the forgotten corners of my country, who really need help and support with educational materials, to facilitate their learning process and change the course of their destiny.
IMG_20180531_120319.jpg

The steem blockchain had offered me the platform and opportunity to see what I can do to help school children through the decentralized project POHI (Product of Help Initiative). The school children became my priority because there was a time I really wanted to help but couldn't, because I wasn't financially capable, to do so. It was during my NYSC year, I had that in mind.

I remember those days while in Delta, my friend Grace would call me from Owerri to ask about the approved NYSC project, and I would cry to her about how frustrated and stranded I became looking for funds and support, wasting resources, printing proposals and dropping them at several established and firms without getting any feedback. Even one of the top companies who had promised me while in camp to support whatever project I wish to embark on, disappointed me. So I learnt how to cope with disappointments.
IMG_20180531_114631.jpg

The school kids in the rural areas is my priority, and I know, they matter to many of us as well. Those ones who trek long distances to school bare footed without sandals, those ones with torn school wears, those ones without school uniforms at all, those ones without school bags, books and writing materials.

Anytime I get to meet with school children without sandals, I feel privileged to have worn school sandals

As I began to earn little by little, from the several ooportunities presented by blockchain technology, I decided to start giving back to the community in my own little way. I started the POHI project with @lordjames in Northern Nigeria, and so far, so good, with the support of other steemians and young persons as myself, we've been able to cover 5 public schools in four different places (Nassarawa, Akwa Ibom, Abuja and currently working on one here at Ibadan). Basically, we've touched northern, southern and western Nigeria with this project.
IMG_20180531_113840.jpg

We've shared and distributed books, writing materials, snacks, drinks and school uniforms to over 100 school children so far. Now, there's nothing beautiful in seeing children suffer. There are a lot more others scattered in remote areas across the country, I've been a foot soldier, I've visited several public schools.

I've seen schools where children sit on stones to learn, it will make you want to weep. I've seen schools where children trek to and fro, bare-footed, enduring the scorching heat that emanates from the coal tarred roads. We can't build roads for our kids to walk bare-footed on.

We are in the age of abundance, and it is true that those who truly need help do not have access to the internet. There are a lot of children out there who need energy, and another conviction to know that they are not alone, and that dreams do come true. And we can become that energy to them.

There's a favorite quote I got from the movie, *"Akeelah and the Bee" many years ago, and that quote has formed a deep component of my my life..... "And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do same". Let's keep shining light where there's darkness, the government can't do everything.
Become the local government in tour area.

I can't thank everyone enough who has been supportive, directly or indirectly to my steemit journey. It's a very long list. But I hold these communities dearly to my heart; @steemit-uyo, @steemjet, @stach, @wafrica, @youarehope @air-clinic, @promo-mentors, @steemgigs, @ulogs, @bigwaves, @naijapidgin, @steembees, @ackza's african group, @dlive, @dtube, @abuja-steem, Ibadan steemit and several other communities.

Special thanks to @mitneb, @dimimp, @ejemai, @surpassinggoogle, @surfyogi, @sircork, @ackza, @ned, @mosunomotunde for being a huge inspiration from afar.

Special thanks to Steemit-uyo, my first steemit family; thank you @samstickkz, @peterwrites, @jeline, @mritsnobigdeal, @annieben, @datibomichic, @ekjosh, @ifioklee, @gnomicrules, @enolife, @emmanueladams, @vheobong, @nexrules, @magrobinson, @derovict, @kvngcreamy, @emem, @enoye, @ucathy, @cheryldavis, @aideedavies, @rachelrick, @elizabethscarlet, @classic717, @ambdavid, @vic-essien, @drap, @ubongj @kween and everyone else

Special thanks to @evelyniroh and @samuelwealth, words will fail me to thank you both enough.

Special thanks to my steemjet family; @lordjames, @deandaniel, @empato365, @mbj, @uche-nna, @geyzee, @ungest, @ninoh22, @mhizsophie, @shartzy, @penking, @peterakpan, @joshuaedoja, @guyzygwin, @kristenantai01, @longming, @shuta, @lucentbritex, @lifeofdarlington, @rextyge, @dromzz, @omowumi, @afowalex, @mrprecious, @etemi, @jogreh, @chukwunalu, @udembahenry, @mathemandy, @sistem, @jesse12, @sheriffakin, @sancti, @mrpiusz, @joyce-okpobo, @cherylsonty, @sweetim, @tudoors, @yhaulez, @michaelcj, @gee1, @ewuoso, @samuel9135, @shrazi, @mydivathings, @josemiguel, @mistakili, @jlordc, @fidelmboro, @izuchukwu1506, @sirdeza, @kilatunzii and everyone else

Thank you @julietisrael, @kofpato, eunireal1, @mcsamm, @prettyjules158, @zeul, @steemgh @jazicothyrus, @siaeetuk, @honourmaus, @princeso

Thank you everyone for the love shown already via steem and SBDs, I was screaming in class when I checked my wallet, hahaha, I am extremely grateful for the undeserved love.

Happy Birthday To me!

Sort:  

Happ Birthday Boss..
Many more to come.
#StayBlessed

Thank you brother

Happy birthday @joshuaetim. May this new year be the best year you have ever experienced. I wish you abundance on every side. Enjoy your new age.

Thank you @gee1, I appreciate

Happy birthday @joshuaetim. You are a great man. God bless you for the lives that you have touched. Keep shinning! Keep doing exploits! Your best days are here!

Amen. Thank you dear, I appreciate

Confam! More blessings bro, bigger you i pray

Amen. Thank you bro, I appreciate

happy birthday and have a wonderful year ahead.

Thank you, I appreciate

Happy birthday brother.. Greater you I pray

Thank you bro, I appreciate

I love your project! Helping those kids especially in the North is a noble thing to do. Disappointments are set backs we must experience to achieve greatness. Keep up the good work. Happy birthday!

#bigwaves

Thank you so much @nmalove, this was a big encouragement coming from you. I appreciate

may you be disgraced with many much blessings from above @joshuaetim. I saw this from @lordjames giving you some warm wishes.Keep making steem blockchain your first and do enjoy the fun it comes with...Happy sweet birthday bro

Thank you so much big brother, I appreciate

Happy birthday bro.

I wish you many more years ahead.
More success man.

Thank you bro, I appreciate

Happy birthday my lovey dicey Prince Charming 😍
Wish you all the best dear....

Thank you super duper glowing bubbling queen, I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15