Reaching 70 -

in #birthday7 years ago

384076624_1d405612c3_b.jpg
Image

Today is my seventieth birthday. As I look back on the past, I did all the usual things, school - the less said the better. I worked in various offices, with receptionist being the job I liked best. Got married to the love of my life, we are heading for our fiftieth wedding anniversary next year. Had 3 children and stopped working when they started arriving. As a stay-at-home mum, I grew with my children and was totally miserable when they started leaving home. And now it is just the two of us again, the way we started.

26082701654_f551de80f1_b.jpg

Image

Two of us

Our children have presented us with four extremely clever, absolutely beautiful and talented grandchildren. We live in a granny flat with our older daughter.
For weeks people have been asking me "When is it your birthday?" Time to join the seventies club? Most of them smiled while asking, but one friend said she always dreaded the idea of being seventy and all the health problems she has had to face since turning seventy. I wonder if this comes from the Biblical reference to 'threescore years and ten' being the allotted lifespan.

download.jpg

Image

My husband and I went out for breakfast, my son-in-law gave me a beautiful smokey quartz crystal, we are also planning a joint birthday celebration, with my husband and several friends in October, I'll let you know how that goes.

So here I am, seventy years old. How does it feel? The same as being sixty nine. I still write for Steemit, still work on our on-line bookshop and read in my spare time, (not much time)
Have you ever read any Gary Jennings books? they are brilliant.
So being seventy is absolutely fine with me.

Sort:  

Congratulations, I hope you had a great day!!

Thank you, I did have a lovely day

We never feel any different!

How lovely! Thanks for sharing and Happy belated birthday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82