THE STORY OF A BRAVE AND YOUNG AFRICAN LEADER- RYTA KRIBASON.

in #birthday6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180521-WA0015.jpg

IN SPECIAL HONOUR OF HER BIRTHDAY!

Hello fellow stemians, welcome to my blog today. Today's blog is a very special one because I bring you the story of a very special Young African Leader from Ghana.

There are some people that when your paths cross, you’ll be prompted to pause and explore deep what drives them. Such is the case of the daring and bold icon I’m writing about today, Ryta Kribason who is 30 years old and hails from Navrongo community, Upper East region in Ghana.
IMG-20180511-WA0013.jpg
Interestingly, today is her birthday. Oh yea! So I chose to share her story in celebration and honour of her. So please show her some love after you read her story.

I WASN’T ALWAYS LIKE THIS!
It was good Friday in Easter after taking part in a walk with my church around the community where the Catholic Church was located that I had a terrible headache. I was 9 years old then. My sister was told to send me to the hospital where I was given an injection and that was it…I got paralysed. I couldn’t walk, sit or do anything. I spent some months in the hospital to no avail. I was discharged home like that.
After some treatments at home, I started crawling again, holding items to be able to stand but couldn’t walk anymore. At the long run, I was taught to use crutches so I started using them from Nursery school.
IMG-20180428-WA0239.jpg

THEY SAID “NO” TO ME!
After my primary and Junior High School education I was refused entry to my first choice Senior High School with the excuse that I can’t scribe and more to the point that the school is full even though I had the best grade in my school and the District Assembly had given me a scholarship to take part of my fees in the senior high school. So I ended up going to a deprived school because I didn’t want to sit in the house while my mates were in school. After then, I proceed to School of Social Work and to the University of Education, Winneba where I studied Community Based Rehabilitation & Disability Studies.

LIFE BEYOND MYSELF
What happened to me could have made me depressed and shy away from life but I made up my mind that I was going to live a life bigger than myself. I wouldn’t hold the world to standstill because I have a disability. I’m going to step out of myself and touch the next door child who suffers the same fate like me. So I created my own NGO called “The Disabled Child and Youth Foundation” In Ghana and use it to impart knowledge to children with disabilities, to teach them how to cope with their situation and serve as a role model for them because I never had that opportunity when I was a child. So far, we have 15 children with disabilities under our care. I also educate parents on the need and importance of sending their physically challenged children to school because most of them believe it’s not necessary.
IMG-20180521-WA0006.jpg

CHANGING THE NARRATIVE
I want to become a role model for children with disabilities. I want them to see me and forget about their disability and head for great things in life. I want them to know that they too can be anything they want. Their dreams don’t have to be buried under the cloak of disability.

I HAVE A DREAM!
I have a dream that one day there will be a disability-friendly environment where we all have access to public places, offices, facilities, respect for people with disabilities and no person with disabilities on street begging for arms.
IMG-20180428-WA0111.jpg

YALI YALI YALI!!!
As part of preparing myself for future leadership, I was so honoured to be selected to participate in the Young Africa Leaders Initiative (YALI) RLC, Ghana Cohort 10. That’s an experience I’ll not forget in a hurry. Thanks to all participants who made life beautiful for me there.
IMG-20180521-WA0013.jpg
IMG-20180428-WA0040.jpg
I want to encourage you not allow any challenge that comes your way stop you. Look beyond them and go become what you want to be.

Are you inspired by Ryta's story, shower her some love today. Thank you.

Source

Sort:  

Am inspired
Happy birthday dear

RYTA KRIBASON represents a testimony of renewed faith and hope that the desired goals can be achieved. Excellent report friendly @evarich

@felixgarciap, thank you friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74