The Joy of Turning 39....for the 5th Time

in #birthday7 years ago

Today is my birthday and I am 39. Well, I like to say I’m 39. This really annoys my husband and my son. To be totally honest, I am celebrating the 5th anniversary of my 39th birthday. birthday+16.jpg

Conveniently, this also expands the possibilities for receiving gifts, as I will not only be getting birthday presents, but also 5th anniversary gifts which I believe is either wood or silverware.

This 39-thing was a silly schtick that was started by the comedian Jack Benny. who was always saying that he was 39 years old. He ended up celebrating his 39th birthday 41 times. The sad irony here is that many people no longer know who he was.

3091521.jpg

I don't know why I do this. I'm thinking that it is either feminine vanity, a mid-life crisis or a fear of getting old. I'm thinking that it could be a way to poke fun at my fears.

At the end of the day, I guess that I should be grateful at getting older. I'm told that it is a privilege not given to everyone.

FB_IMG_1500305569952.jpg

Sort:  

Happy birthday! You are not alone in the celebration of anniversaries of birthdays.

Thank you! And good to know.😉

well it certainly is a privilege , but i will say that at times some young folks do take the micky when i say my age and my reply is a lways, "eh up i have got there you have still to get there " lol said in a nice way of course, and joking as i wouldn't want anyone taking offense,

This post is a way for me to poke fun at myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57864.88
ETH 2274.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54