Reflection's on Today's Planned Events

in #birth6 years ago

Today did not go according to plan and I could not be more grateful. 

        Today was supposed to be the day that my wife and I went to the hospital to enjoy the birth of our son Finn. Finn had other plans and I suppose he didn't want to be born today or he or the universe knew we needed him to not be born today. As many of you know Finn arrived at home into my hands on the 4th of this month. So much could have gone wrong, so much could have been lost that night. 

         The 4th was nothing short of a perfect day in our families life. We were blessed with a healthy baby boy. As we move farther away from that night we grow more and more happy with life. Glad that he is here and that he arrived in the exact manner that he did. Scary as hell but what mother or father of ten children doesn't need a scare and a wake up call to remind us that each life we create is an extension of us that we get to love, watch grow, laugh with, learn from and grow with as they get bigger. A gift from from the source of creation that all are able to draw from but not all are prepared to draw from.

         I reflect this week and I can't do anything but smile and be thankful that my son picked me to be the first one to hold him on his journey into this world and that my wife got to be the second. There were no drugs involved, nor any doctors or bright spot lights. Nothing was inserted into his blood, he wasn't poked or stripped from our arms until we were properly introduced and made the choice to have him weighed and printed for his records. 

        17 days later he has never left the side of one or the other of us. He has gained one and a half pounds and is at his projected weight they had given for today's birth. He is a happy baby who only cries when hungry, he sleeps very well and has even been holding his head up on his own since day three which was 14 days prior to his planned day of birth. 

        These are the physical manifestation's one is able to view and enjoy if one only takes the time to cancel out the noise and live in the moment and realize that the rest of the world is really unimportant once you are the one responsible for life. No matter how early you have them, kids mean you're now the second class citizen in your life and they are the purpose in life. Anyone who is not willing to view a child as that isn't fit to be a parent in my honest opinion. We put our individual lives on hold long ago and as our oldest one has went to war 4 times in 3 countries and is finally back home in the US with his family, we just had his youngest baby brother who is younger than his son and daughter. That's how our family is our grand-kids have to call some of our kids Uncle even though the uncles are the younger one's in the family.

          What an amazing thing this thing called life is, you can go from face down in the dirt to the king of everything if you just keep getting up and accepting the past and looking forward. We could have been that family that went on welfare and took handouts and no-one would have questioned it with the size of our family. We picked a different path, my wife and I both hold 4 year degree's, own our own business, our our house, have children in college on a full ride, have high school kids in sports, band and keep straight A's all after being home schooled until high school. We don't live past our means and find more joy in giving to others than hording collections of things that don't amount to much more than simply money if sold. We are not poor but we are not financially rich but we are wealthy beyond our wildest dreams with the most valuable item in the world, love.

        Having Finn brought back some horrible memories of losing our last son. These are the events that remind us that life is to short to worry about the bullshit. I have been very bored looking through my feed these last few days at all of the back and forth of everyone proclaiming to be right. I can see both sides but I also view it as a waste of each sides energy. So I will weed out those who don't flow with our view on life for now and pick them back up later when things calm down. I wish good luck to everyone who is currently in the battle as I see both sides of this fight.

Sort:  

Congratulations!!!
Forget the flag wars, in the Grand scheme of things... It's only a fight over who yells the loudest.
Your kids are what's important. Your newborn is a reminder of life.

I agree fully, that is why I am lightening my feed of the noise.

Large families are great. My dad has nephews and nieces older than he is. So it isn't strange at all to me.

Congratulations man. I think we could all use an outlook on life similar to yours.

Thanks man, I was just starting to wonder where you have been. I hope all is good, feel free to DM me any time you want if you skip out on chat in general.

Gotcha. Got a little overwhelmed with schoolwork, and it made me disconnect a little bit. Some r&r is gonna go a long way this Thanksgiving.

Indeed, I take it you have somewhere to chill over the break. I can't wait to see some of the shots you capture over some good friends and food.

I love this.
I think you have officially become one of my fave authors on here :)

Please keep writing these deeply personal stories.
They touch my heart in ways you could never imagine.
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87