Wildlife : Birdwatching - 725 🐦

in #birdwatching4 years ago


1.jpg

The wood sandpiper (Tringa glareola)

Variegated long-legged sandpiper. I met several birds on the shore, where one river flows into another. It was at the end of July 2017.
Two birds were nearby, they quietly rested. And one decided to eat and wandered through puddles, stones and mud, pulling out water insects from it. And she was pretty shy. She didn’t come close to me, and as soon as she realized that I was approaching her, she immediately flew to the other side. I decided to hide in the tall grass that grew nearby. I lay down directly on stones and dirt and covered myself with grass. And it worked! After some time, the bird came to me, and I managed to take these pictures in close-up.

Here we must proceed from ethology, the science of the behavior of animals. Look at yourself from the side of the bird. She sees some kind of unusually huge object for her, and besides, this object is moving. Naturally, the bird is afraid. Therefore, there are two ways for the bird to stop being afraid. It is quiet, without sudden movements and sounds, to spend some time with her so that she gets used to it and understands that you are not a danger. Or lie down on the ground, thereby reducing your size.


2.jpg

o0s3mikf8p.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65