Killdeer - Birds of Northern California #9 reprise

in #birds6 years ago

IMG_4296.jpg

Killdeer are quite common on the gravel fields and drive ways here in northern California. For those of you that follow me, I am up to 40 bird species photographed near my home. I did Killdeer early on in a post with several other birds when I first started counting so this isn't a new species. I got a couple of nice shots so I am reposting bird #9. Killdeer famously run away from you encouraging you to follow. Which I have done many times with camera out but they are hard to get close.

IMG_4298.jpg

Pretty ladies all in a row.

Dublin, California. January 2019. All photos original.

Sort:  

Beautiful ladies in these necklaces. You are lucky to see such a large variety of birds near your home ,@steven-patrick. Great shots :)

thanks @madlenfox I loved the ladies in necklaces. That is exactly what I thought when I saw the photo :)

Good to see you still have a lot of birds over there. Here, we don't have much variety left.

Spring is coming. Just a little earlier here.

So many birds ...

Thanks for sharing your knowledge on them and for all the interesting pictures you post !

They are really cool birds...!!!!!
They have a very distinctive sound.
Awesome photos....
@steven-patrick
(:

Yep they were very loud. You can actually see their beaks are open ha ha

I love watching them put on a big show trying to lure you away from the nest. Have you seen where they will pretend to have a broken wing?

Yes. Its good fun. I used to always try to find their eggs when I was a kid.

Those are fantastic shots! I do a lot of birdwatching too but I can't get shots like those. You must be the bird whisperer.

thanks @goat-girlz you need patience and a big zoom lens :)

Oh right. Patience. I usually find I've left mine in my other coat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79