Feathered Friday - Mourning Dove

in #birds5 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @keithboone for #featheredfriday

IMG_4730.jpg

Caught this mourning dove in a tree in the late afternoon. Doves are quite common here in the northern California. We see them in the fields during the day and flying off to their roosts at dusk but don't often catch them in a tree like this.

IMG_4742.jpg

Dublin, California. January 2019. All photos original.

Sort:  

Wow. Beautiful bird... And so close!

thanks. We were on a bridge overlooking a small stream so we were kind of up in the trees :)

We see them in our backyard all the time in my part of Texas. They love the black oil sunflower seeds that I put in my bird feeders!

Very pretty birds :)

Beautiful images @steven-patrick. Great composition and blurred effect in the second photo.

thanks @trudeehunter I liked that one too

Nice photo, especially the second pic...

second is definitely more artsy :)

Great shots! If a hawk makes a pass at my bird feeder it is usually the mourning dove that he has for lunch. Maybe because they are bigger targets or slower than most of the other birds that come to the feeder?

thanks @melinda010100 maybe they are just more tasty ha ha Sorry I couldn't resist

That is probably it! 😃

Most beautiful they are @steven-patrick.
I loves the doves..!!!
(:
I have a few here. I put cracked corn out for them to eat.

Doves are beautiful birds

Lovely shots. We have the mourning doves here in spring & summer. i see them usually in the driveway picking something in the gravel.
Nice to hear their mourning call.

thanks we called them rain doves when I was growing up

Sweet shots and what a beautiful bird

Hmm, that dove looks a lot different than doves over here.

Cool. I'm always interested in different birds from different places. I love #featheredfriday because there are birds from all over the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97