American Black Oystercatcher taking a bath

in #birds6 years ago

After feasting on clams using its long red beak, this Black Oystercatcher decide to take a saltwater bath :) This was the first time I actually caught an oystercatcher bathing, so it was a treat for me! I love to watch birds preening and bathing :)

This guy was in a group of about six, and they were pulling up little purple clams one by one, then using their substantial red beaks to jackhammer their way into the clam. They've been in town for a couple of months now, and you can hear their high pitched calls from far far away :)



This video was captured along the shore of Stanley Park between English Bay and 2nd Beach, in Vancouver BC, Canada.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Its funny bird.
In Russia, this bird called something like "sandpiper-magpie" :)

It is a funny bird! It does the same head bobbing that most of the sandpipers do, but maybe not as much :) They are quite brave too and will allow me to get quite close, but I have to go slowly, bit by bit ;)

I captured one of these oystercatchers running full speed at a poor little widgeon that was waddling away and the poking the widgeon in the butt really hard with it's long pointy beak! I was amazed, as was the widgeon :)

Thanks @ratel!

Superb images and video @stanleyparker That oyster catcher sure was enjoying his bath.

Thanks @trudeehunter!

Yes, she seemed to be having a good time :) I was hoping she'd give me a nice wing flap at the end and she didn't disappoint!

She was very obliging indeed @stanleyparker and you were in the right place at the right time. Well Done!

I love watching these guys! Nice video!

Thanks @keithboone :)

They are an interesting bird; When they all start making making their call, you know there's a good chance that they are about to take off as a group, which is always a fun challenge to capture!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00