You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Built my first bird house

in #birds5 years ago

Are you going to build more and attach them to trees around your property?

We have a lot of birds around our neighborhood. I wish we could put some in the woods behind our house. Sadly, it's not our property; it's just wild woods on property owned by someone who lives in Florida. We can't even do anything about the poison ivy that keeps encroaching from the woods into our yard. The only thing we've been able to do is to get permission to cut back the tree branches that were weighing down on our fence.

Sort:  

I live on one acre so I do not have enough property for multiple Kestrel homes. If I wanted more than one I would need to place them a half mile apart as they are territorial.

Im building a bat house too, and maybe if I can build an Owl house that would be cool too. Hard to say if an Owl and Kestrel home only a few hundred feet from each other will be an issue or not.

Ah damn that really sucks, im constantly pulling up poison ivy. I find the saplings in the summer and try to stay on top of them. Hope the landowner comes to their senses and lets you clear it out.

My husband happened across a formula online that kills poison ivy. I don't know the specific ratios, but it's a vinegar and liquid soap formula. Of course, it kills all the ground vegetation you put it on – grass, weeds, and all. But, if you dump it on the poison ivy roots, the plant dies all along the vines; it just turns into a burned-brown looking mass.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58095.37
ETH 2464.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32