Original photo series: Birds of California #16, Black-bellied Plover

in #birds7 years ago

Today, I share a couple photos I have taken of the Black-bellied Plover. First, here is a bird in basic or winter plumage. It is a drab gray. Actually, in most of the world the common English name of this species is Grey Plover, but here in the US it is called the Black-bellied Plover.

bbplover.jpg

The Black-bellied Plover, Pluvialis squatarola, breeds in the Arctic and migrates to most coastal areas of the world for winter, including California, Australia, but does it go to Tasmania?

My second photo shows some of the black belly of this species' breeding plumage that gives it its name. Also, we see black in the face, and some speckling on the back. Occasionally we see partial breeding plumaged birds here in California during migration.

bbplover2.jpg

Sort:  

Nice pictures, good work. I follow you for more :)

Great captures! A little different looking than in my video.

Great photos! Thank you!

I also recently watched the waterbirds. They are very interesting and funny!

Wonderful bird photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87