The genesis of 'Bird on a Stick'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #birds6 years ago (edited)

What is 'Bird on a Stick'?

I first came across this expression in a photography forum where two guys were arguing about lenses and posting their bird photos to prove their points. The discussion went back and forth, and finally, one fellow posted a good shot and said: "I dare you to show me something better than this, made with your lens!"

The reply, dripping with sarcasm, went something like this: "I study birds, I learn their feeding and mating habits, and I spend hours in the wild taking natural and authentic photos. You, on the other hand, all you're doing is bird on a stick! "

DSC_1234.jpg

I was immediately fascinated. I have bird feeders in the yard, and I take lots of shots, but...
DSC_5731.jpg

5457-2-ANIMATION.gif

...many people prefer to see the bird in a natural rather than man-made setting. The term 'bird on a stick' seemed to imply a method of getting more natural looking shots in the backyard. A little cheat if you will. I eagerly set out to learn how to do this!

First attempts

My initial setup was very simple... literally, just a stick propped up in the yard, and a little bird feed. It is important to select a background some distance behind the stick in order to get some blur, and separate the subject from the background. In the examples shown here, the background (a cedar hedge) is about four or five yards distant.
DSC_5748 copy.jpg

DSC_5557.jpg
DSC_5539.jpg
DSC_5583.jpg

I was pretty happy with these results, but I realized the setup was too simple to look truly natural. I started thinking about building a more complex setting for the birds which would look more convincing.

Second attempt

Starting with a small juniper tree we have in a pot, I added various sticks, rocks, and bits of moss. It didn't look like much at first.
DSC_5844.jpg

My theory was that wherever a bird perched, I could zoom in tight and take a shot, and the random elements in the scene would look natural. This might have worked, but I soon realized a better idea was to pick a very precise spot for the bird to land. Somewhere in the setting which would be nicely framed creating a pleasing composition.
DSC_5932.jpg

DSC_5922-ANIMATION.gif

So why did the bird perch in the exact spot I selected? Simple... that's where I put the bird food!

Conclusion

I'm very happy with the final results, and I'd like to do more of this. I will need some new 'sticks' so you guys won't see the same setup each time. Let me know what you think of this. Is it a cheat? Do you care? Let me know if you have questions or suggestions, thank you!

All photos were taken by me with a Nikon D750 and Tamron 150-600mm zoom.

Sort:  

From someone that has no experience with this subject But just a normal member of the public who may be looking at your photos they are very beautiful. It must take a lot of patience to wait for that one great shot.

Thank you very much! I waited about 4 hours for those final shots. I sat there reading a book with the camera remote control in my hand, waiting for a bird to stop by. :)

Thanks for the photog lesson. I love learning and you shared a great tip ....I'm definitely going to give this a try in the spring. Right now we have too much snow for me to sit outside waiting.

Your photos are beautiful btw. I'm following you now.

Thank you so much @countrygirl I followed you the other day I think. I appreciate all your comments and upvotes, it means a lot. I'm just working on a post with lots of photos about eagles and a totem pole...check it out later if you like that sort of thing :)

Give visibility to your articles.
Get an upvote 2.5 to 3 times bigger than your send.
Read the explanations on @friends-bot
FRIENDS-MINNOWSBOT is a new bot made for beginners.

This is so cool, just like a fast instruction to make better bird photos and I got the hints you gave me. 😃
The idea is great and I will for sure try it out this coming summer. I hope you don't mind if I'll post better bird photos than you do... just kidding 😂

Btw: You do indeed not need a new camera... I'm actually dreaming of a D750

Thank you, Patrick, glad you like my post. Bring on your photos, I know you can do better! (and if you do, I'll just sneer... oh, you only do bird on a stick haha :)

Oh you will love the D750 if you get one. Prices should be dropping, it's a three year old model now. Of course if you look at the D850, you might want that one!

Let's have a look, what Steem and SBD will do and how careful I will be in the future with my crypto. I already literally threw two D750 in value (must say: SBD was 13 USD then) away with a few wrong clicks:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@pipurilla/i-lost-almost-all-my-sbd-how-could-this-happen-a-warning-ich-verlor-fast-mein-gesamtes-sbd-vermoegen-wie-konnte-das-geschehen

What a wild story! I didn't know about 'transfer', I have been selling my SBD on the market. Everyone has told me to set my posts for 50-50 split between SBD and SP, then sell the SBD and power up. That's what I've been doing, trusting is this advice. But I still don't understand why it isn't more simple to just put 100% in SP if I'm not trying to take out cash... It was something about exchange rates between steem and SBD I think, but I wonder if that still holds true today after the recent price fluctuations in Steem?

That changes every day. It is true that SBD is most of the time of higher value than steem. When it raised up till over 10 USD, Steem was worth some 6 USD. In such a situation, you better change exchange them on the market.

They deleted the "convert" button in the wallet a few days after my bad mistake, so what I did is fortunately not possible anymore.

Sorry to hear you had this problem. It is at least encouraging to know that you had built of that many SBD... it means you can do it again. Just for an experiment, on this post I set the rewards to go 100% SP.

Thanks very much!

Great post @keithboone! You've got a bird laboratory in you back yard ;) I think the photos are great, you don't need to tell anyone that you baited the poor things :) Cheater :p Just more birds on a stick!

Junkos, white and gold crowned sparrows, stellar jay, rufus hummingbird; did I get that right, not sure about the hummingbird or the gold crowned...

Thanks, buddy! I am such a cheater :) I think it's an Anna's Hummingbird, and that Gold Crowned was a Vancouver resident :)

I have never seen a stellar jay in stanley park :( I've heard them a few times, but have yet to see one and I've spent countless hours in that park! They were everywhere on the north shore...

We had four of them in the backyard. Apparently, they will not normally come into town, but the dry summer last year has changed their behaviour. The west coast of the island has a large population of stellars

Such beautiful photos and fascinating story Keith. I am truly impressed with your ingenuity, talent and dedication.

Although, I am not ready to photograph birds, since i do not have an efficient camera, but I will remember this for a future. Thank you for sharing 😊

Thanks so much Lena! I appreciate you stopping by my page :)

Absolutely stunning shots! Keep it up!

Thanks very much, glad you liked it :)

An outstanding blog @keithboone Creating something this beautiful, is called artistic talent my friend. And what you have achieved is truly incredible. Who cares that you provided a stick for a bird to land on and provided a bowl of caviar (lol) to tempt him to stay long enough to get some awesome shots? Not me! I’m taking this with me to view over and over. Well Done!

Caviar! Too funny, so you've learned my secret! Thanks for sharing Trudee :)

It is a pleasure to share such a wonderful post. Bringing animation into those frames is very clever and very effective. I hope you do very well with this blog.

I've enjoyed making those little animations for some time but never had a place to post them... it's a pain to post these on FB, and I don't go there much anymore :) Thank you again

I hope you will treat us to more of these great blogs Keith.

I think I could do one on herons, if you like that sort of thing... I even have the GIF file ready. That seems to have become a piece of these blog entries :)

I'd love to see your heron blog with these special features Keith. I've been looking at a few of my gifs lately too. They add interesting diversity don't they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66916.74
ETH 3481.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17