Birding on eBird - If you love birds, check out this website

in #birds7 years ago

eBird TN_L.jpg

As the garden grows, more and more birds arrive to live in and around our bushes and trees. In my quest to identify these birds I stumbled upon this website called ebird.org

eBird 1.jpg

eBird is a joint project of the US' Cornell Lab of Ornithology and the National Audubon Society. It's not just confined to the US, though, it's a vast global database of birds and their sightings, containing huge volumes of data that can be used for conservation and science. Ebird can generate maps, graphs and other detailed analyses, improving our understanding of bird occurrences and the factors influencing them.

eBird 6.jpg

ornament.jpg

Today I'm contributing to the eBird.com database. There's a competition running, which I might enter:

http://ebird.org/content/ebird/news/bird-academy-giveaway-ornithology-comprehensive-bird-biology-october2017/

The first bird I decided to enter is the snail kite. Click on the picture if you want to see and read more about the snail kite.

Snail kite .jpg

First we have to fill in the location.

eBird 2.jpg

Then we fill in the date and the time of the observation.

eBird 3.jpg

And of course the bird(s) that we spotted including pictures, videos and sound recordings if we have those.

eBird 4.jpg

And sure enough, when we search for snail kite in the explore section of the website we see my pictures on the top of the list.

eBird 5.jpg

What's interesting is that you can also listen to the different birds. Learning their calls and songs can be very useful in identifying and spotting a bird. Here's the call of the snail kite. I bet you didn't know that it sounded like that.

snail kite call

I had to share this fantastic website with you. It's very useful to identify birds. Please submit your own observations to eBird. It helps to improve the database.


Thanks and much love,

Gardenbsquared



U5dsr1VhEKXmHkQPT1haGuac9zVsz6L_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Oh, wow! thank you so much for it! I do not have such a great photos as you do, but would like to check one bird I was curious about%)

Thank you. Even without photographs you can list observations on this website. What I like about this site is that you can look at the area where you live and discover all the birds sighted.

We just landed in Vietnam%) I guess I will use it to see what kind of birds I can meet here. It was fun knowing some facts about Bangkok birds so thank you so much for posting such an interesting tool for the curious explorers%))

Image Source

Wow, I wish you great pleasure on your journey. I've never been in Vietnam but what a beautiful country it must be.

It is%)) So far I haven't discovered any birds here%(( But lots of motobikes! Maybe I will post something about Vietnam so you can have a sense of being here as well%)) Much love to you from here%))

That's a bit worrying. I'm sure there must be some birds there. Love your posts about your travels. Much love.

I recently learned about this application, we used it locally for the Global Big Day.

I helped several local groups register both with the platform and linking their platform accounts to the national registry here in colombia.

It paid off too, everybody around here says: Colombia won!

What do you think? Can you win at bird watching? Owen Wilson says yes in The Big Year, one of the most underrated comedy movies of all time in my opinion.

Thanks for sharing this, I might want to translate this perfect guide to spanish one day.

Ahhh. Colombia puts Suriname to shame. But trust me, we have more than 0 species of birds. Thanks for pointing out this movie. Maybe I can find a copy.

New birder to Steemit, but looking for birding posts and birding related sites. eBird has revolutionized the birding world. I also put up a post about use of eBird in trip planning. https://steemit.com/ebird/@birderguy/ebird-revolutionizing-birding-trip-planning Good birding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67488.06
ETH 3761.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56