Alice's: Living in the rainforest #1

in #birds7 years ago

Hello! I'm Alice
We moved into a beautiful home tucked into the range just north of Cairns, (in Australia). The wildlife living in the garden is strikingly beautiful, particularly the birds and butterflies. I would love to share my extended little family and introduce you to the regular visitors.

Introducing.. The olive backed sunbird. This tiny little bird is not shy, they come right up on the veranda to say hello, but they are super quick, they never stay for long.

Only the males have the iridescent blue bib, The females have completely yellow tummies. They are like gorgeous feathered ping pong balls!!

IMG_2015.jpg

IMG_2831.jpg

IMG_2834.jpg

IMG_2836.jpg

IMG_2805.jpg

IMG_2716.jpg

IMG_1888.JPG

They build interesting little hanging nests and i'd love them to build somewhere around the house. I have short lengths of rope hanging from all the hooks i could find outside, hopefully they find the perfect spot to build a nest, and i can share more photos with you.

If you enjoyed meeting the sunbird, please keep an eye out for more posts from me in Cairns and the beautiful tropical wildlife we have here.

8e2pn7fh2wyqs59tgwp3mmwhz.jpg

165-stanton-road-smithfield-qld-4878_img10.jpg

IMG_3820[678].JPG
This is me and my pet sun conure, Billie, and rainbow lori, Django. Above is our house in the rainforest, majority of my photos are taken from the veranda.

Sort:  

Pretty birds and great photography :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48