Binos

in #birding5 years ago

Yesterday my boyfriend and I had planned to have a day hiking in one of the redwood parks, but I ended up taking on an afternoon/evening shift at work so we did not have enough time to do that. Instead, we went to breakfast and then to the birdwatcher store to get him some binoculars for the pelagic trip we are doing next week.

Last year he took me to get binoculars for my birthday, but up until yesterday he did not have his own pair. I was really excited for him to finally get his own, and he ended up picking out the Nikon Monarch 5s. I will probably borrow his at some point during the trip because mine are not fog-resistant and I made sure he knew to pick out ones that have that feature, especially since we are going to be out on the ocean in the early morning. The Nikons also came with a free hat, and the store owner also threw in a free Sibley pocket guide.

20190824_174934.jpg

When I was choosing my own last year, I tried a few different brands and models including a couple different Nikons. I ended up going with the Opticron Savannas because they felt the most comfortable and I particularly liked the crisp 3D effect of the view. I am very happy with my Savannas, although I do wish they were fog-proof and that is one of the specs I will not skip out on next time. When I do upgrade, I plan to go back to the birdwatcher store to try a few out in person to find the best fit, and then look online to see if I can find a nice used pair to purchase. I know they are an investment and I needn't avoid buying brand new since I plan to take good care of them, but I may as well buy them secondhand if I can. Anyway, that situation is a ways off since I am not in a position to spend a few hundred (at least) on binoculars when I already have a pair that work perfect fine for me the majority of the time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @passerine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Really good post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84