The omnipresent kingfisher

in #birding6 years ago

I would never image that I would see it so many times during my trip. Kingfishers are not that easy to spot in my country, and on my second day in vacations spotting this guy, I though I was really lucky!

IMG_0105.JPG

White throated kingfisher / Guarda-rios de garganta branca (PT) - Halcyon smyrnensis

In Sri Lanka, there are six resident species of kingfishers, but this was the only species I've spotted. White throated kingfishers are spread throughout Asia, and are fairly easy to recognize, with bright blue back and wings, broad beak, and white throat and breast.

IMG_0159.JPG

IMG_0172.JPG

Despite its name, this little guy's feeding habits can also include small reptiles and insects, amphibians, small crabs... that's why it can also be found away from water, and that explains why I kept finding them almost everywhere!

IMG_0163.JPG

Why do you keep pointing me that camera??

Some of the best photos I took of them were in an urban setting, and during my trip I found them frequently perched in wires and fences. So chances are, if you're travelling in Sri Lanka and keep an open eye... you will probably find a kingfisher sooner or later perched somewhere! Enjoy the show, because they are just beautiful!

IMG_0168.JPG

IMG_0256.JPG

Photos taken with Canon SX50 HS

Sort:  

Very cool photos! Great camera!

That optical 50X zoom... priceless! ;)

Este post recebeu 10.26% de upvote da conta @steemitportugal!
Obrigado por fazeres parte da comunidade @steemitportugal .


Telegram_PT2.jpg

ow! So cute little fisher! great shots!

Thanks! I was amazed to see so many!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Pardinus [português] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76