Yellow-crowned Tyrannulet (Tyrannulus elatus) - Birds of the Guyanas 27

in #birding6 years ago

2U0B1413_L.jpg

The Yellow-crowned Tyrannulet is an inconspicuous small bird that lives in humid lowlands in most of northern South America and Panama. I saw it for the first time last weekend and I was lucky that it showed its yellow crown otherwise it would have been very difficult to identify it.

2U0B1414_L.jpg

These flycatchers like the forest edges where they hide deep in the vegetation looking for insects and fruit. They are small birds (10–11 cm; 6·5–8 g) that are uncommon to common in their large range. The Yellow-crowned Tyrannulet is a resident breeder that builds a simple nest in the shape of a shallow cup made out of fine twigs. Breeding has been observed from January to September.

2U0B1412_L.jpg

It only allowed me to take four photographs before it flew off. I'm still amazed how many birds I keep finding in such a small area where I live. Another bird added to my life list for Suriname.

2U0B1415_L.jpg

Thank you for visiting my blog and happy birding.




banner.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @gardenbsquared! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71