Sunrise Mt. Rainier Today

in #birding6 years ago

AMPI better.JPG
American Pipit Anthus rubescens

I hiked on the Sunrise trails at Mt. Rainier National Park today, and although the primary purpose of my hike was birding, the highlights of the day were not the birds. There have been a lot of wildfires in the western U.S. this summer, and there has been a lot of smoke in the lower elevations, but not so much at the mountain today. Here is a view of the lower valleys, and I'm not sure how much of this is fog and how much is smoke.

low clouds.JPG

I like the photo though. While I was walking on the Wonderland Trail out of Frozen Lake a here of Mountain Goats ran (stampeded?) right in front of me across the road. I hope to put up a dTube video of this later, but here are some photos.

GOats on the run with mountain.JPG

Goat herd 2.JPG

goats close.JPG

I also saw an American Pika, an animal in the rabbit family:

Pika close.JPG

From a point called First Burrows Mountain I could look across at another hike destination called Fremont Lookout:

Fremont Lookout.JPG

I did manage to see two soaring eagles, that I'm pretty sure are Golden Eagles, although another birder called them immature Bald Eagles, so I'll ask for help from friends on this ID.

GOEA juv.JPG

Anyway it's always great to get hiking in the mountains.

Good birding. Steem on. Here is a link to more photos on a Flickr site. https://www.flickr.com/photos/43201721@N02/sets/72157698706782381

Sort:  

beautiful nature

The photos are absolutely stunning, the view is amazing.

Beautiful photos.The smoke/fog got to me most,I like the way the grey-whitish color of the smoke and fog blends with the ranges in the background.It has a beautiful fading effect.

Make a tutorial of how you do it

You got a 15.07% upvote from @upme thanks to @birdbanter! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 15.25% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @birdbanter!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-18T01:49:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 683.35/200.00
Total Photos: 109
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beatiful. I like it!!

Full day of taking in nature with photos to look back on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78