A Great Joy

in #bird7 years ago

daveperch2.jpg

Please Note: This piece was written in 2009. It explains why I'm here on Steemit, which for now, is to talk about big birds and why they're such unique, irreplaceable, important companion animals. Maybe somethin' here will strike a chord in your soul. That's my hope. Enjoy.

100_2601.jpg

One of the things I enjoy most is writing about my birds, Caribe and Bravo. Every day with these blue and gold macaws is a true joy. There's so much to appreciate, to marvel at. Their stunning beauty always strikes me. Every time I see them, it’s a treat for my spirit. They’re just so VIVID! Color seems to jump from their feathers, another marvel in their own right.

IMAG0479.jpg

Then, you look in their eyes. When you’ve come to know a couple of big birds as I know my guys, you see a great deal in the eyes. I’m not imagining it, I assure you. I understand anthropomorphization and I don’t look for “human” things, I look for “avian” things in the eyes. I see a lot.

100_3152.jpg

In human terms, we use words like “curiousity,” and “playfulness” to describe them. But, it’s much deeper than that. The words have to mean more than our ascribed “human” meaning to get the job done. One of the ways I can describe HOW a B&G acts is by referring to the average 2 ½ to 3 year old child.

bravowingsuplg.jpg

“Curious” and “playful” certainly describes most 3 year olds. Same for a blue and gold macaw. Intensely curious, innately mischevious and playful. Throwing toys (and food), temper tantrums, pouting, striking out, cuddling and loving, too. And they can SCREAM! When on my shoulder, and one or both let out a scream that can be heard five MILES away, well, let's say it WILL melt ear wax, makes your ears ring for a good while.

They’re also incredibly intuitive, another word I have to use inadequately. Some animals genuinely do have a sixth sense, or so it seems to us. They sense very weak bio-electrical fields, auditory ranges and air movements we can’t detect, so it seems they have a prescience we don’t enjoy.

caribeprofile1.jpg

Birds…at least MY birds…sense my mood, gauge my level of tension or relaxation, can somehow SEE if I’m upset, frustrated, angry or sad. Or, if I’m tranquil, calm and relaxed. They pay very close attention to how I'M feeling. I see it every single day. I can walk into the bird room one day, and the guys will greet me, hanging on the front of the cage. I reach in, they step up, take some affection and transfer to the top of the cage, where they generally get some head skritches.

madhead - Copy.jpg

Other days, for any number of reasons, I come in tense or distracted. They’re nowhere near the front of the cage and they don’t want to step up…will slap my hand with a beak. They hurriedly exit the cage on their own, will NOT voluntarily step up and they cut a trail to the back of the cage, where they generally turn, give me a “mad head,” and won’t come to me.
What is this? No greeting, no stepping up, no affection, no head skritches.

What’s different? Answer is ME. I’m different. My aura is different.

aura1.jpg

Not gonna go into the “aura” thing again. I believe it. I don’t care if it’s scientifically sound or not, whether it’s been “proven” one way or another…just don’t care. I KNOW my birds can see “something” about me that people can’t. One day, I’ll find a way to prove it.

So, they read me much better than I can read them. That’s the exciting challenge of having a big bird in your life. They’re big enough so I can see…if I look carefully, with great patience and concentration, their behaviors, habits, attitudes. OK…I see their “feelings.” I said it! So, THERE!

Next Up: "Feelings" are a touchy subject with bird owners. And...I got a bit to say about it.

Once writ, hit send.....Web Rydr

Sort:  

Nice post. I just Followed you. Please follow me.

Love the photos Darlin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44