I lost my Lovebird Kiwi out of the blue and made a funeral box for her...and how I'm coping..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bird6 years ago

kiwi.jpg

There she is, my 10 year old lovebird. I found her tragically dead in her food bowl this week completely heart broken. And I think I may have myself to blame. Due to winter I layered her cage with a very dark blanket that blocked out light and I'm thinking she choked on her food by not being able to see too well.

I feel like she was taken away too quick for me and feel guilty that I didn't spend enough time as I should with her due to my depression and I felt like some of it rubbed off on her. When I took her out she was super playful or just wanted to rest on your shoulder . She loved guys (hated women lol). And just wanted to hang out and be part of the family.

I could bring her outside and she was so attached to the love of humans I never had the fair of her flying away ,with as you know with birds is a big no no. She loved people.

kiwi2.jpg

As you can see she was a cuddler, loved head rubs, loved to be next to your hair or near your eyes .

kiwi3.jpg
Here she was as a little baby..

And heres a video of her cuddling and drying herself in my hair in the summer afternoon.


Sadly some of this may not be NSFW but heres her funeral boxes.
Contained I put a Golden Buddha head , quarts crystals, christmas tree, blanket to keep her warm, gold foil , her favorite playtoy and the tree of life in gold Foil.

IMG_0618.JPG
IMG_0616.JPG
IMG_0615.JPGIMG_0617.JPG

I was debating on posting these on facebook. But here is the funeral box I made for Kiwi. I posted her last pics and these on some places and have had such tremendous feedback from people wanting to know about Kiwi,sharing their stories and even having grown men saying they cried to the funeral photos.

As someone who deals with depression all the time I thought this was going to be extremely bad for the next few weeks. I think the way we lost Kiwi might of been due to choking and possibly cause of the new dark blanket I had put over her cage.

Kiwi showed me how precious life is, how quick it can be taken away and how other people I don't even know have been affected by her. I thought this was incredibly thereapuetic having at least one last day with her making her as cozy as comfortable before the snowfall laid over the ground above her. Alot of people were amazed by this but anyone can do this when the time comes and their pet dies. It's an incredibly touching way in my opinion to say your goodbye and pay some nice respects to your loved pet.

I should of spent way more time with her, and I miss her, but it's been a nice few days connecting and helping people with their pain of pets they lost. I'm not looking for any pat on the back, but just if you find yourself in the same situation do what you can for your pet and it something like this may be some sort of great healing for yourself.

Miss ya Kiwi !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74