Lets Try Another Medium for this Bird Post

in #bird6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, this past week I've been missing from action in this beautiful platform.


This past weeks I was just reading and upvoting posts from other Steemians. Somehow I noticed that there were a number of posts that is about art using oil pastel, water color,acrylic and chalk(I even saw sand sculptures, that is crazy!)

Today, I attempted to do an oil pastel post. Of coure my subject will still be bird, anyway, just check it out, I enjoyed doing it so please try to enjoy this post as well.

Rooster Cockoo in the making

First I draw the birds big beak with the color red.

I then rubbed brown to it so it can give that lighting effect for the beak. By the way, drawing realistic apples are the same as this, you use brown as the undercolor and bright red for the light part.
There, it blended nice as I wanted it.
It is always safe to have three type of colors in your palette for an area or a color. These three types are the mid tone, under tone and the light color. Try it, this picking of palletes is much easier done in water color since you can just play around three colors and mix them together till you get those three types of tones.
In oil pastel's case, doing that is impossible, buying more colors is the only thing you can do other than blending different colors.
There are times that any blending can't work for color pastels to achieve the right color, that is why artists who use them frequently has a lot of sets of them. To be honest I sometimes find oil pastels more expensive than acrylic paint because of this matter.

I then started making the body with gray and black.
Look at that, the color is so rich, you can understand here why many people like this medium so much.
This medium is so straight forward, buy a box of it, get a paper and start drawing.
Unlike watercolor and oil paints, you will not be needing space for your water and palette, oil pastel is so convenient.
I blended other colors on the birds body with gray...
...and brown.
Then I drew the eyes with white pastel.
Anyway, I was inspired of doing this art with no pencils cause I saw several posts doing them without any pencils, I better do it the same way so I have a face to show to these other artists. XD
Applied gray over the dark part of the body for neutralization.
Then I started applying a variety of bright colors for the lower body. What color is that? Isn't that burnt sienna? Or yellow ochre? Not sure...
I applied brown on the top of yellow ochre and it went out good for the feather.

Applied red here, you can already see where this is going, Just apply dark then light then dark again. That is how beautiful bird feathers looks like.

Done! This is one beautiful rooster/ bird.
I did the back ground by rubbing the oil pastel sticks side ways. I used the color yellow here.
Then I applied blue and orange. Same thing here, I applied it side ways.

And there we have it folks, my bird art!!!

I'll try doing watercolor next...

That's it for this post today! Thank you for at least browsing! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Everything here is mine, I'm an original content creator!

Sort:  

these are nice paintings. how long have you been painting

:D chicken! I love oil pastel too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02