You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The neurobiology of stereotypes

in #biology6 years ago

Hi there @zen-art! What a beautifully written post and that formatting of yours is also amazing. I like this more personalized approach on people's blogs.

I took the lawyer-engineer test and guess what... I fell in the trap. I guess getting away from your stereotypes is as hard as getting away with one's skin, they have become one with us and to try and get over them is a really difficult task. I believe with education and proper upbringing we could at least make stereotypes weaker for future generations, although we cannot neglect the fact that stereotypes and generalizations sometimes protect us from possible dangers (let's not expand on people and look on an animal example, when you know that an animal is a possible carrier of a specific and dangerous disease, then keeping away from it might eventually save your life). The point I am trying to make is, we should learn to evaluate a stereotype before trying to either rationalize it to an extend or reject it. (This is a loooong and complex story, I know...)

I enjoyed reading your work! Keep it up!

Sort:  

There is a reason why stereotypes are still in our minds, they were protecting us from danger and still can. If I see a person with a knife or a gun coming towards me, guess what, I will not think he wants to share philosophical views, I will run. :D The point is to, as you said, evaluate. Stop and think, figure out where a certain opinion is coming from and is it objective and rational or not. Thank you for your amazing comment and for adding your input to this subject! 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35