You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Water hyacinth - An invasive beauty all over the world - Photos from Portugal

in #biology8 years ago

Wow! Thank you for spreading the word out on this impressively powerful and, of course, invasive specie. I have been interested in invasive species for many years now and didn't know about this as I live to far up north to see them in the area.

Thanks again for being proactive about this problem that we all face knowingly or not. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting. I wanted to write about the impacts...but I didn't know how to make it minimal interesting. My 2nd post about introduced species that become invasive didn't gather much attention and it is on of the most important. I think it's important to get people more conscious about invasive species after all, prevention is the best attitude and people are fundamental on that ;) Water hyacinth is at the present relatively close to me...but I will put that on other post :p

GREAT WORK, if only all people were as concerned citizens of this world as your are, this place would be a much better one. Thanks for your dedication, time and hard work. Namaste :)

Most of the "unbalanced ecosystems" we have today started many years ago, because people didn't know it could be bad to transport species around the world. Some of them aren't harmful. For example, I love potatoes and tomatoes...and I'm glad portuguese sailorman bring those here. Probably I should have write that 2nd post with this kind of examples...;) Namaste!