You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The neurobiology of stereotypes

in #biology6 years ago

I don't know how much more important a post can be, than this one. It has recommendations for helping to nurture future generations that may be less biased, but better than that, the post asks us to look at ourselves. I know in my own life (it is a long life) I've had the opportunity to reexamine biases I was taught as a child. I'm not sure what my amygdala does when I meet someone from a group I was taught to fear, but I know what my conscious mind does. It rejects this impulse.

I do think stereotyping is based on structural influences that are at play long before we go to school. If in our neighborhoods we see only one type of person, other types are 'strangers'. These are hard biases to overcome and they are pervasive--carry over into schools, clubs, places of worship.

It's a great, valuable blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64