You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adolescence: The Hallmark of Humanity?

in #biology6 years ago

First of all, let me thank you for the entertaining gems sprinkled through this piece. For example:

Equations that prove whatever you want them to prove
and
White-clad people announcing that they found a growth is not usually good news

At some point in your essay I thought of marsupials. I did some Google searches and discovered the tammar. This mammal, native to Australia, has a growth curve represented by an "S" on a graph. It has an early spurt (in the pouch), a leveling off, another growth spurt, and another leveling off. This occurs in both sexes, and during the second spurt, rapid growth is also "seen in limb bones.". I know nothing about tammar endocrinology. Actually, I know nothing about tammars, except what I just learned. I just thought it was an interesting bit of trivia in light of your discussion.

Also, wildlife documentaries will never be the same for me :)

Sort:  

Somehow the image of a marsupial seems quite representative of adolescence, symbolically. Dunno why!

Thanks for reading and commenting ))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42