You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Biography for Homesteader's Co-op

in #bio5 years ago (edited)

It's great to discover another forest dweller. I live in a very rural Cherokee reservation that is heavily forested with nice rough topography and a spring in the bottom of the hollow behind the house. We're surrounded by 150 acres of tribe owned reserve and another 40 acres owned by non-residents which is largely inaccessible, leaving only one side with an inhabitant living about 1/4 mile away. A beautiful small lake that's relatively unknown is a short walk away, crossing only 1/4 mile of private property which is uninhabited. People out here walk across each others land frequently.

Had to cut down a small tree to park my truck on the property for the first time. The path through to the house is twisty because that's where the fewest big trees were. Buried the power line in to avoid cutting any more.

Love living in the forest. It's so peaceful and fresh with a view of the sky at night that's amazing. I don't leave for weeks at a time when I can. Could shut the gate and not leave for years if it came to that.

let me know if you would like me to share what I would have done different/better if building my place in the forest again, knowing what I know now.

Congratulations on your return to nature.

Sort:  

Wow, that sounds amazing! And sounds like your place is much wilder than ours!
Denmark is really super settled, due to pretty much all the land being suitable for agriculture, so the only forests still standing are protected. 8 hectare of the forest on our property are protected forest, which have to remain forest. But just on the other side are fields and farm houses.
Sure I'd love to hear more about your experience! I'm pretty green in this field and have to learn pretty much everything from scratch!

If you get on https://discordapp.com using your steemit/Dtube name I can invite you to direct message about forest dwelling stuff. Let me know if you have a different discord name

You should be able to find me as frejafri like my steemit name 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90