[Preview] Bike Tour Ishigaki to Naha to Kagoshima

in #biketour6 years ago

Bike Tour Ishigaki to Naha to Kagoshima: Ohara Festival under the Sakurajima volcano

Bike Tour Ishigaki to Naha to Kagoshima Highlights: -Back on the saddle -Sakurajima Voclano -Ohara Festival -The dark night

After spending nearly two to three weeks in Okinawan Islands, I was back to Kyushu alone, and back on the saddle. It was tough to not have Seungjin as my riding partner anymore but it that’s life.

Sakurajima Volcano was a symbol of nature’s power. Just the amount of ashes it spewed out on a daily basis and just covered this city with it and was the only downside of this place.

I was really fortunate to be in time for the festival, I did wait a day or two extra to catch it and it was well worth it. 16000 people on the streets dancing wearing traditional clothing, the Japanese passionately took pride in their traditions and really knew how to hold a festival.

Bike Tour Ishigaki to Naha to Kagoshima

The real highlight about Kagoshima was the personal one. Looking for a camp site, I thought I go up the small mountain nearby and become stealth. However, in the pouring rain, I would have to drag my bike up the dirt path that had these steps all along the hill, and I couldn’t just roll it up these high steps, I had to lift the front part of the bike on every step and was very tiring and demoralizing not knowing when I was going to reach the top in complete darkness. Darkness, rain, fatigue, the unknown path, hunger, all can have major effect on the morale. And one more, when the path seems illegitimate, just turn back while you have the chance.


The Mahi Mahi, this reminded of the old man who caught one using just fishing the fishing line. It’s from the cliffs of Maeda point in Okinawa.


The seafood port in Kagoshima. Fishes of all kinds were iced and boxed up here for distribution. Fortunately I didn’t find any marine animals that shouldn’t belong there.

This is a guest blog post by Dae Choi
[If you would like to read the rest of this guest blog post, please go to the link provided below, thank you!]
https://bornkorean.com/bike-tour-ishigaki-to-naha-to-kagoshima/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77