Me and the 1st Ever Bike in My Life

in #bike7 years ago

Hello everyone who loves cycling!
VR1j-MP6DZg.jpg
I’m making this post to introduce myself to everyone who doesn’t know me personally.

I was born in 1982 and raised in Southern Ukraine. The first of my bicycles was ‘Orlyonok‘ (‘Ereliukas‘ in Lithuanian) made in the Soviet Union (in the Lithuanian S.S.R.). My parents gave it to me as a present in 1989. I was very proud of my first bike! There were no hand brakes that most modern bicycles have now. To stop or to slow down you had to backpedal. Children of the former Soviet Union had no alternative from a wide range of bicycles: just a few similar models that were produced in former Soviet Republics. But those bikes were affordable almost for everyone. Despite that, various bad guys tried to steal my ‘Orlyonok’ four times, because, as a child, I didn’t mind at all and I usually left my bicycle unlocked simply on the street near my house. Thanks to my parents, neighbors, and once, police (they were called ‘Soviet militia’ at that time) my bicycle was returned to me every time. Then I sold it to a younger child for a small price. Since that, I have changed my bicycle several times and now I own a ‘Corratec x-vert’ model of hardtail mountain bike. The mountain bike is the most popular type of bicycle in our area because of a diversity of mountains and hills here.

In general, as I grew older, riding a bike hasn’t remained my single fascination. In different periods of my life I have indulged in roller-skating, skateboarding, playing Frisbee, skiing, snorkeling, and sometimes I have tried other sporting activities as well. Nevertheless, my most favorite activities are still the same: mountain biking and hiking in summer and snowboarding in winter. I don’t consider myself to be an experienced cyclist. The longest bicycle tour that I undertook was only 4-days travel when I was riding the mountain bike for 60-70 km a day only, and I was extremely exhausted at the end. But, in my defense, that trip was through multiple 1.2-1.3 km-tall mountains. So, I have no experience of long tours on a touring bicycle on flat terrain. I’m thinking of purchasing an inexpensive and reliable touring bike before the beginning of my next world tour.

I would be happy to see your comments and/or questions under this post. Feel free to contact me on steemit.0_kje0PMRlQ.jpgDPvqyUbWIvk.jpg

Sort:  

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you

Thank you very much! I'm the newbie on steemit but appreciate its simplicity and its opportunities

Congratulations @orls! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @orls! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @orls! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts! +vote

Congratulations @orls! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @orls! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65