#Bike - Connemara road trip - Introduction

in #bike6 years ago

Hi guys,

Sorry I said I will be active, and I am not 😒

I am really busy at work at the moment and I am getting ready for one of my first big road trip by bike! I am really exited to finally get on my bike for a few days with my tent and travel around the Connemara.

How did I get this idea? 🤔

Back in the days when I was still in France, I used to BMX with a guy called Jeremi. I went abroad for my studies and lost contact with him, but kept contact on Facebook. Few years after, I see that this guy has still his passion for bikes and created a blog
I got back in touch with him and found out that he has been travelling around Europe by bike (in group and/or alone) and is planning a bike trip to China!! I then followed his story really closely throught his facebook and Instagram.

This guy made me dream and I decided to do the same! Big up to you Jeremi!! 👊

What have I done then? 🙄

Well, bike riding is not something that you can just start to do like that; there is a lot of training, motivation, and preparation to be done.
Even though I have been riding little crazy bicycles for more than 10 years now (BMX and dirt jumping mostly), road cycling was something it took me time to get used to. I really started when I arrived in Ireland 2 years ago. I decided that, since I moved to a big city, I will be car-free and use only bicycles. I started to go to work, shopping, and to travel around County Cork by bike.
The first months were tough, many things surprises you and you don't know yet how to deal with these scenarios. It can be bad weather, traffic, puncture, fell or just even being sweaty at work. But after all that, it's just a real pleasure and you want to do even more!!

What I realised?

Road cycling is fun, mostly when you get to new places and discover things you haven't seen before. Doing it by bike provides such a pleasure. You feel so proud of yourself and it definitely does not feel the same as travelling by car.
You realise how far you get from your home, how remote is the area you are right now. You feel the road, nature and the distance you are travelling. I have seen people bored travelling by car in areas that are so worth seeing and feeling. But it is maybe just a thing that certain people cannot sense.

What's planned? 🗓

I am just going to leave you with this roadmap and I will keep you updated on the next post!

Departure Saturday 9th of June 🚴‍♂️💨

You will find details here

Screen Shot 2018-06-05 at 12.08.05.png

Few words coming to my mind when I go for a bike trip (short or long), never leave home without these in mind:
Tool kit, food, water, energy drink, temperature, time, weather, waterproof and breathable clothes, shoes, gloves, jacket, T shirt, lights, helmet, bell, bike pouch, maintenance, training, planning, researches, doable, motivation, phone, battery

Sort:  

Congratulations @goodshort! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31