Bike Sharing’s Contribution to Singapore’s Future

in #bike-share7 years ago

mobike.jpg
Mobikes in Singapore — the bike-share company i went with as they offered free rides for month of July and August (almost in the same fashion as Uber grabbing market share and running a loss day to day while being sustained by more investment capital— but that’s for another article); still taken from here

Finally getting round to posting this after letting it fester as a draft for the past few months. Was meaning to lengthen and polish it first, but decided to publish as is as I will be posting a longer piece shortly on my work on bike-use and bike sharing in Vassar College and Poughkeepsie, where I’ve been studying abroad at for the semester.


Earlier this year, just moments after arriving in Tam Ky, Vietnam, I found myself behind handlebars and headed down a wooden plank connecting our accommodation’s porch to the asphalt, and into a sea of cars, motorcycles, other bicycles, trying not to lose sight of my girlfriend and our friend we were visiting in Tam Ky. Having only cycled a few times in my lifetime, I was terrified. Aside from the one or two major roads, there were few signs or even lines on the roads that demarcated lanes or who had the right of way. However, I found myself quickly acclimatizing to the ebb and flow of traffic as my muscle memory of riding a bike returned. It probably also helped that the road culture and its unspoken rules in the absence of much traffic infrastructure was fantastic. Drivers and riders were always on the look out for others, and were able to criss-cross surprisingly safely and efficiently at four road junctions. For the same reasons, I also felt safe crossing roads where cars and bikes would be whishing past in front and behind of me.

Back in Singapore a month later, I decided to start cycling again. Having recently moved into a neighbourhood a distance from the MRT (the train network in Singapore), riding seemed like a transport option that made sense to pick up. Additionally, the introduction of bike sharing services in Singapore was timely. It was my first time riding outside of parks in Singapore. However, while I was no longer cycling in road traffic, the first few times I rode were extremely frustrating and difficult for an unseasoned rider. In the last month of riding, there have been times where I had to dismount and carry the bike when met with steps. Sharing the narrow strip with pedestrians who were likely equally annoyed at the steadily increasing intrusion of personal transport devices meant that there were people that refused to move to a side for me to pass through, and even one incident where someone gave me a hard push when I was cycling past them. Riding on the roads in my neighbourhood was out of the question for me, unless I was returning home past midnight and there were no cars in sight. Cycling then, at 3 or 4 in the morning, was wonderfully therapeutic and stress-free. While there were quite a number of cyclists around the Rochor-Bugis area where I worked in, cycling on the narrow roads and alleys there had been frankly dangerous for a biking young-blood like myself.

For the most part, gone was the magic of being on a chalkboard skating rink on which the pedestrians, cars, scooters, and bikes gracefully danced around each other. It was hard to appreciate my surroundings when I was constantly stopping and going, and second guessing whether others would allow me to pass through. Obviously, Singapore has its own sidewalk norms and culture. In places where there have never been much bikes at all, it is not unexpected that people would have an averse reaction to their sudden influx. However, cycling gave me a new understanding and appreciation for my neighbourhood and workplace area. Cycling meant that I had to first look at a map of the area and see which would be the smoothest route to take, but once I mounted the bike, I had to recall which lanes I was supposed to go down, and over time, learned them and committed them to memory. Another thing I loved being on a bike is how it transforms my thought process or daydreaming (the safe kind). Different modes of transportation places the mind in a different state of thinking. Cycling induces a state where I am free to continue strands of thoughts at my own pace through controlling speed and variation just like in walking, but also detaches me from the environment in the same manner sitting in a car or boat does. The variation in pedalling and being carried by momentum is also reminiscent of ice skating, promoting a rhythm for shifting thoughts or moving in and out of rumination.


The establishment of the various bike sharing companies in Singapore speaks to the ‘green and smart city’ its government envisions as the city’s future. The improvements to public transport, the advent of ride sharing services, and increase in car ownership prices and road taxes have not slowed the heavy automobile proliferation we see today by much. An increase in the use of bikes and other personal transport devices could be an additional means of reducing Singapore’s carbon emission from the roads. Aside from the environmental benefits, increased bike use would also have health benefits for Singaporeans, from the reduction in air pollution, and the increase in physical activity. Socioculturally, biking also brings people closer to the city, to the environment, and to each other.

We are still far from that future, however. While the bike sharing companies have faced problems such as theft and hoarding of their bikes, improper parking, and general public nonacceptance, I feel the larger obstacles present are the lack of bike infrastructure that would allow bike usage to become widely adopted. A lack of bicycle paths and bike highways results in impossible traversing of narrow sidewalks and alleys, inconveniencing pedestrians as well, or illegal and dangerous riding on the roads with unsuspecting drivers. The weather in Singapore and the lack of shower facilities in workplaces and provision of time to clean oneself after arriving at work disincentives using bikes, and even public transport for many. However, the chicken and egg problem of whether to first introduce infrastructure or increase adoption is one that isn’t so easily navigated. I believe that this is the biggest boon of the introduction of these bike sharing services — it steadily cultivates a push toward tomorrow’s development of such infrastructure as long as people see some good and are willing to give cycling a try in the more bike-unfriendly today.


This piece has also been cross published on Medium and LinkedIn.

Sort:  

I'm glad you've enjoyed cycling! I recently started biking to work. I'm in a small university town in the United States, so it's nothing quite like Singapore, but it really has been great being able to ride.

I can identify with what you talked about when your mind experiences a different sort of wandering and thought processes when you're biking. You do still have to consider your surroundings in order to be safe, but it's much different than driving in a car.

How far do you ride? My commute to work is only about a mile, so I don't ride much when on the way to work, but there's a nice bike trail near my home that my wife and I ride frequently, which is a 14-mile round trip, so it's nice for evening exercise.

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on bike sharing! I hope you'll be able to take advantage of the program for many years to come!

Great to hear that you're enjoying cycling to work. I would say on average between 15-30 minutes; however, also in a small university town in the US for now, and haven't been able to ride as I wasn't able to find a cheap bike for my short stay here. Have been working on a small project on investigating bike-use and the possibility of starting a bike-sharing program on campus or in the city though, as mentioned. Thanks for your thoughts!

It's strange that more college campuses don't have bike-sharing programs! I think there were some efforts to get one started at my undergraduate institution, but it didn't happen before I left. It's fun being able to ride to work. Right now, it's a bit too cold, but in the spring, summer, and fall, it's extremely pleasant. Thanks for your response!

Great article, @jerald! I love how you have described your different experiences with the different locals. It was very interesting to see how different it can be.

I used to commute by personal bicycle to and from college in the heart of Chicago, Illinois, USA, year-round. We only had one car, and a baby, so whoever had the baby got the car, and the other person used a bike. We both enjoyed the 5 mile commute each direction because the roads were wide, and somewhat safe. Winter weather was a little dicey, but we had the gear for it. I enjoyed being able to be outdoors a little every day during the commute because I had many hours of desk time, and I don't like being indoors as much.

I've upvoted and resteemed this post. I found the link to it via #unmentionables. I'm following you now, too.

Cheers!
@mitneb

Thanks for the comment. Yea it's way nicer to cycle on wide roads especially with designated bike lanes or safe traffic!

For sure, but you still need to stay alert, @jerald. I once had a car hit my bike handle with his side mirror as he illegally passed a car on the right. I didn't crash, thankfully, but I couldn't catch up to him to give him a piece of my mind. My only satisfaction was that the impact blew his mirror to pieces.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Really fascinating stuff @jerald - I myself am a bicycle commuter and have been for the better part of my life almost everywhere that I've lived: San Francisco, Toronto, Vancouver, Atlanta, and now Los Angeles. The amount of people who are surprised here in LA that I commute by bike compared to all the other cities is hilarious - they just can't comprehend not using a car!

Bike sharing initiatives are starting to pop up around here but it's a slow adoption, even for California which generally speaking is pretty green. But the fact that they're popping up makes me happy and at least gets the conversation started by those of us who are actually using the services - few though we may be for now!

Great to hear that you've been able to cycle in so many places; and definitely good to see more popping up as the green city narrative and aspiring towards it becomes the norm.

I had a chance to visit San Francisco a few months ago, and I can imagine how the hills might deter many from cycling around. But I did see some bike rental services and people cycling around in the downtown area where it's flatter by the piers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jerald from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Is this a new concept? Think they have just started one over here in Malaysia and yeah, people can be ungrateful, trashing, stealing and vandalizing the bicycles.

It started up around May/June in Singapore I think; yea the tragedy of the commons is definitely a problem, and I think the companies have addressed that by flooding the place with more bikes - remains to be seen how it'll work out in the long run, but as mentioned I think the real benefit of the programs are to increase bike-usage and by extension bike infrastructure. Maybe bike-sharing won't last as is in the long term but we'll see more park connectors, bike lanes, showers in workplaces and people with their own bikes commuting to work as a norm in future! Hope the situation is Malaysia follows this trajectory too.

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a Steemit community dedicated to supporting and promoting engagement among its members!

This post has been featured in Unmentionably Artsy Picks of the Day: Curated Beauty Vol. 10!

Interested in our group? Click the banner below to apply to join, or check out our account @unmentionable!

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support your ride!
Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Hi !!
Nice to meet you! We are currently trying to create a Steemit community for fellow Singaporeans.
Inspired by what other countries had done (teamaustralia, teammalaysia, etc), a community will help Singapore Steemians to grow together. We can share ideas, collaborate efforts and learn from each other.
If you are interested, feel free to join this newly created Facebook group and unite together! https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemsingapore/
Hope to see you participate in this community! #teamsingapore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65