Beats of life 4

in #bigwaves6 years ago

image
[Image credit](www.Facebook.com/art gallery)

And so it began, what seemed to me like a storm in a tea cup metamorphosed into a war each time I conceived an idea.

I remember the reason for the first fight clearly. That fateful day, A package arrived from another state for me and it was delivered to the wrong address and so the good person it was delivered to called me to meet and pick it up. "My love" offered to drive us in his car. The sun was intense that day and I was grateful for his thoughtfulness.

I sat beside him in the car in silence till we reached our destination. Throughout the drive, he offered no conversation and I kept my peace. Luckily, in less than 10 minutes, I picked the parcel and we headed home. On our return journey, I informed him of my plans to visit my superiors at the firm I did my externship particularly to thank my supervisor for his help and tutorials during that period.

To my chagrin, he asked why. He asked me to give reasons for wanting to see my supervisor. I starred at him speechless.
I imagined that if I told "my love" of a person's goodness to me, that he would at least encourage me to show gratitude. For this reason, I struggled in my mind to understand his motives.

I insisted on my plan and requested him to drop me at the firm and he grudgingly did.

My supervisor, a plump man with a perpetual smile on his fair face was glad to see me. He encased me in a hug and asked about everyone and everything. We talked about school, and my future. He expressed willingness to have me on his team whenever I wanted and I gladly accepted.

When I got home, I called "my love" and told him that my supervisor offered me a place at the firm notwithstanding that my school was yet to publish my result. He was silent, I could perceive the news was not good to him. When he found his voice, he complained that I had not recovered from all the stress I underwent at school before taking up something else. When he realized I was determined, he backed down.

The pay was not much, but I was happy that I didn't undergo any stress to get a place. Then again the firm is a friendly environment I wouldn't trade for anything. This is apart from the fact that it is among the top firms in the area.

I have always loved personal development in all sphere of life especially career development. When I met "my love" I had already decided that advancing my career would be foremost on my mind. He echoed his support for me and pledged to be there. This is why I am perplexed every time he tries to stifle me.

On a fateful day, one of my friends who I have known for a little over two years and who I consider a mentor called to check on me. He made career suggestions and I decided to act on them.

First I had to prepare a curriculum vitae. And so on a Thursday morning, instead of going to do the stadium to do my laps, I decided to craft my curriculum vitae.
Two hours into the process my phone rang. I checked to see it was "my love". He called to find out why I didn't make it to the stadium. So I explained that I decided to stay and draft my curriculum vitae so that I can send out job applications. He exploded in my ear, I was shocked. He asked why I didn't consult him first. He asked why I was sending out applications? I didn't answer. I just dropped my phone and when he was done talking, he ended the call.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34