My Opinion On Chimamda Adichie

in #bigwaves6 years ago

image
Photo Source

Earlier today, I was reading about how Dana Loesch, a human right activist shaded Chimamanda Adichie for trying to redefine the concept of chivalry. She felt that Chimamanda could focus her energy on battling the various problems facing her home country, Nigeria, particularly the issue of female genital mutilation. Several people have challenged Dana but I think I have a different opinion.

If you ask me, I think that Chimamanda should calm down a bit. There are times when I think she lives in the clouds and has issues identifying what really does need redressing. Rather than go all out with this third wave femininism, I think that it would be much better if she looks at the African society and educate the local female folk who have almost no idea of the liberation of the second wave is capable of bringing about.

While it might not seem obvious to you, I think that despite the bold face Adichie puts on in the International scene, she isn't as much of a hero as she used to be, that is if she has not lost her rule over the literary space back home in Africa. This is due to the fact that she stopped fighting the African battle after entering the international scene. Instead, she chose to pick up the battles that have been won in other societies and sit upon them.

Farafina, her brainchild would have immensely helped upcoming African writers to have a voice just like she does. However, I am of the opinion that she isn't willing to grant anyone the opportunity to compete in the major leagues of Literature like she does. With three widely acclaimed novels, it is safe to say that she has become a deity in the African literary space and she intends to keep it that way. However, when you look at it critically, bringing up other African writers would ultimately initiate a sequence of events which would end up bringing her down.

I am a big fan of Chimamanda but I think that she should bring the struggle home back home to Africa. Other than the issue of female genital mutilation, I am of the opinion that Chimamanda can lend her voice to the various problems confronting Africa in this modern world.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81