Goal setting

in #bigwaves6 years ago (edited)

Goals! We all have set goals at one time or the other but did we actually actualize them? If no, what went wrong? How can we achieve our goals in life against all odd. I'll be sharing a few pointers I've learnt in life.

Steve Harvey is one of the few who truly started from the bottom.
There are plenty of successful people who started in the middle of life with a good education and rose to the top. Steve flunked out of school, worked at a factory job, go fired, was homeless, and made up his mind to be a success when he was middle-aged.
I can list the names of people I know who started like that on my fingers: Richard Branson, John Paul DeJoria, Chris Gardner, Jim Carrey, Sylvester Stallone, Brian Tracy, and Tony Robbins.
When I first heard Steve’s story on YouTube, it struck me so deeply that I had to learn more. Why? Because some part me had lost hope but I saw that if Steve could change his life so late in the game, maybe I could too.
As always, I do a search to see if he wrote a book on success, not expecting to find anything.

Major things to note;

  • Focus
  • Distractions
  • Improper information dissemination
  • Unclear goals and priorities
  • Executive gap

image
Source

All of us have an excuse. Do any of these sound familiar?

  • I’m too old
  • I’m too young
  • I’m not the right ethnicity
  • I have the wrong skin color
  • I’m too poor
  • I don’t have the right education
  • I wasn’t born in the right city
  • I don’t have the experience or skills
  • It’s too hard to learn these skills

Eliminate all immediately!

How?

  • Identify top goals and priorities: too many goals cause confusion and may cause change too often and are vastly under communicated.
    Front line produces bottom line

  • Be passionate about the goals: lack of spirit of ownership brings about little or no involvement and or commitment.

  • Time spent on goals: don't get distracted by urgent things but neglect most important things.

  • You must understand what to do to help the organization to achieve its goals.

  • To achieve goals you've never achieved before, you've got to start doing things you've never done before.

  • You must be crystal clear about the goals.

  • Differentiate between long term goals and short term goals.

  • Prioritize goals based on :your values, your relationship with others, and your time.

Types of goals

  • Educational: I want to have a masters in 3 years time and a PhD in 7 years, that's an example of educational goal.
  • Career: e.g. In the next 10 years, I see myself as one of the highest ranking CEOs in the world.
  • Personal: e.g. In 5 years, I want to have a family of my own.

Broad guidelines for goal setting.

  • Say/write each goal as a positive statement/confession.
  • Be specific; include dates, times and measurable achievements.
  • Set realistic goals, don't set goals too low.
  • Set performance goals not outcome goals.
  • Reward yourself when you've not achieved a goal
  • Make sure your goal is yours and not someone else's.
  • Develop goals in: family, financial, career, spiritual, physical, health, social and educational.
  • Review your goals daily
  • Ask yourself as you make any decision, "does this move me closer or further away from my goal"

Say this out loud with me: “From this day on, I will never again have another excuse for why I cannot achieve the goals that I set out to accomplish. I have access to incredible resources like the internet to help me achieve my goals that were not possible anytime before this in history. I have access to resources, education, and a land of opportunity. Things were not perfect but I will prevail. People have achieved things FAR greater than what I have set out to do with LESS opportunities. People have managed to build a rocket space to the Moon and Mars against insurmountable odds. I can do this.”

I conclude with this quote;

What if your ship never comes in?
What if the situation never changes?
What of your dream never comes true?
Could you still be happy?

Ref


I am @bookoons, reminding you today to Make A Difference!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the Steemit community! Thanks for the great post! @steemitcentral has upvoted your post. ALWAYS follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag to get some upvotes!
IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg

Setting goals is really easy. To accomplish them is the main problem. It takes dedication to do that. Sometimes people do set unrealistic goals which is another problem. To source your image. [Name](Image link ). You should not leave space like mine. I did that for explanatory purpose. You can reply this if you don't get this.


@bigwaves

Thank you for the correction. It's been effected

Very well written. Keep it up!

#Bigwaves

Thank you ma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74